Healthy Shopper Top Picks Fall 2014 {Review & Giveaway}

healthy shopper

I can’t tell you what a fun time we have had as a family eating our way through this review!!!  So many new to us items arrived that my husband and sons were ripping open packages as I was trying to take photos!  I know Angela has had several chances to review The Healthy Shopper in the past but this is my first time and our family has a few new favourites!

healthy shopper

Our families favourite picks!

healthy shopperMy son I swear lives on yogurt so Olympic Dairy’s new Chia yogurt was the first item we tried out.  The chia seeds make the yogurt even healthier and because it contains no artificial colours flavours or preservatives I felt good giving it to my boys.  Did you know chia is an excellent source of protein and fiber as well as being rich in Omega-3 oil?    It contains pre- and probiotics which in my house is very helpful for little tummy troubles.

 photo P1060850_zps73d62018.jpgIn our house yogurt usually gets paired with fruit and granola.   Made Good Organic Granola Bars and  Minis were a hit.  The Minis are little clusters of nut-free, vegetable-rich (equivalent to one serving of veggies in each of the granola bars) school safe snacks.  They are organic, wheat-free, vegan and Kosher so a lot of bases are covered but none of that would even matter if they didn’t taste good.  I am happy to say they are so good my boys are excited to have them in their lunch bags!  I brought a pack into work to have a couple of co-workers try them and when I told them that they contained veggies like Shitake mushrooms they were shocked!  The flavours include chocolate banana, chocolate chip, strawberry, apple cinnamon, and mixed berry.

 photo a494f8df-46f3-454c-80f2-d34176366815_zpsc0b46ff0.jpgI wanted to tell you all that we had no opportunity to try the Hyland’s Homeopathic Baby Tiny Cold Tablets and Baby Cough Syrup but I think I jinxed myself.  My little Smashie is almost 3 years old and came down with a cold last weekend so we gave him the cough syrup.  It definitely helped with his sniffles and cough.  I like knowing that is all natural and safe.  It is naturally sweetened and I got no protesting about the flavour which is a big bonus!

 photo P1060855_zps937f396b.jpgPasta is a staple in our home as I’m sure it is many of yours.  The Simply Natural Pasta Sauces are great tasting and are not surprisingly they are some of the best selling organic pasta sauces.  They are low in sodium, gluten-free and non-GMO, but again the real test was in the flavour.  Again we had found a winner!  Hubby and I enjoyed the Fra Diavolo and the Tomato and Basil was a hit with the kids.

The Pamela’s Products Sugar Cookie Baking Mix has been set aside for a rainy day for the boys and I to try baking them.  The All-Purpose Flour Artisan Blend works well in recipes and is gluten free and suitable for people with multiple food allergies.

We loved being introduced to all these new foods and have already added the yogurt and granolas to our regular shopping list!

About The Healthy Shopper

For 15 years, The Healthy Shopper has become a trusted source for helping families eat healthier and live better. Passionate about the natural health industry, it was founded by Randy Boyer and Andrea Donsky in 1999 to encourage Canadians to pursue and maintain a naturally healthy lifestyle while saving money. Their book “Unjunk Your Junk Food,” has become a very meaningful resource for educating those searching for healthier alternatives to their favourite junk foods. The Healthy Shopper Coupon Book has encouraged consumers to try high-quality natural and organic products at more affordable prices.

THE GIVEAWAY

Win it: One very lucky Canadian reader will receive a basket filled with the Healthy Shopper picks for the fall of 2014. Enter below via Rafflecopter. Good Luck!

Disclosure: I received a sample of a product to facilitate my review. No other compensation was provided and all views and opinions stated on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Tennille Fraser

Latest posts by Tennille Fraser (see all)

    Pin It

145 responses to “Healthy Shopper Top Picks Fall 2014 {Review & Giveaway}”

  1. Anne+Taylor — October 17, 2014 @ 2:22 pm (#)

    The Made Good Organic Granola Bars sound really good

  2. jan — October 17, 2014 @ 2:25 pm (#)

    The Made Good minis. I already know and love the Simply Naturals!

  3. Louise+Chapman — October 17, 2014 @ 2:27 pm (#)

    Baby cough syrup! Would be nice to have something to give her when she gets a cold!

  4. Emily Linton — October 17, 2014 @ 2:59 pm (#)

    The Made Good Granola sounds great!

  5. Lynn Mathieu — October 17, 2014 @ 3:07 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces.

  6. Kristine+Ewald — October 17, 2014 @ 3:09 pm (#)

    Would love to try the organic granola. Looks amazing 🙂

  7. megan tilley — October 17, 2014 @ 3:41 pm (#)

    The granola bars! Granola bars are my absolute favorite snack!

  8. Jody+D — October 17, 2014 @ 3:57 pm (#)

    I think the Simply Natural Pasta Sauce would be the first to try

  9. Jeannie — October 17, 2014 @ 4:12 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauce

  10. rachel jenkins — October 17, 2014 @ 5:14 pm (#)

    vodka cream pasta sauce 🙂

  11. Dayna+Wilson — October 17, 2014 @ 5:17 pm (#)

    The Made Good cereal!

  12. Jonnie — October 17, 2014 @ 5:19 pm (#)

    I’m looking forward to the pasta sauces

  13. Karine — October 17, 2014 @ 5:44 pm (#)

    Would love to try the Vodka cream sauce!

  14. Francine — October 17, 2014 @ 5:51 pm (#)

    The Simply Natural Pasta Sauces

  15. Judy+Cowan — October 17, 2014 @ 6:40 pm (#)

    The Simply Natural Pasta Sauces 🙂

  16. Silvia D — October 17, 2014 @ 7:58 pm (#)

    would really love to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces

  17. cheryl+hodgkins — October 17, 2014 @ 8:59 pm (#)

    I’m looking forward to trying the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces…

  18. Molly Totalik — October 17, 2014 @ 10:32 pm (#)

    Granolas, always love ’em. : )

  19. Jenn Erin — October 17, 2014 @ 11:56 pm (#)

    I have to say the Organic Granola Minis because I too love pairing granola with yogurt. I honestly look forward to waking up for breakfast when I have granola to have with my morning yogurt!

  20. Jeff Skidmore — October 18, 2014 @ 4:24 am (#)

    The Chia Yogurt!

  21. Carol M (Lushka S) — October 18, 2014 @ 7:57 am (#)

    The pasta sauces

  22. Juliee Fitze — October 18, 2014 @ 8:19 am (#)

    I would like to try the Chia yogurt…

  23. Yvonne Tabaracci — October 18, 2014 @ 10:04 am (#)

    Organic granola bars..yum

  24. Stephanie+LaPlante — October 18, 2014 @ 10:36 am (#)

    I’m most excited about the Made Good Organic Granola Bars and Minis

  25. SueSueper — October 18, 2014 @ 12:03 pm (#)

    I am looking forward to try the Made Good Organic Granola Bars.

  26. SUSAN PATTERSON — October 18, 2014 @ 1:34 pm (#)

    The natural pasta sauces

  27. Doreen+Lamoureux — October 18, 2014 @ 1:44 pm (#)

    They all sound and look so yummy. Perfect the sauces would be my most favorite but I can see how they all would.

  28. Vesper Meikle — October 18, 2014 @ 1:47 pm (#)

    As I love yogurt the Olympic Dairy’s new Chia yogurt is appealing

  29. Florence C — October 18, 2014 @ 2:33 pm (#)

    Olympic Dairy’s new Chia yogurt sound good.

  30. 409cope — October 18, 2014 @ 2:47 pm (#)

    I would most like to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces.

  31. Dianne Arsenault — October 18, 2014 @ 3:20 pm (#)

    Chia yogurt

  32. Anna W — October 18, 2014 @ 3:46 pm (#)

    The made good granola bars look really tasty.

  33. kathy+downey — October 18, 2014 @ 3:49 pm (#)

    would love to try the pasta sauces first

  34. Rosanne Robinson — October 18, 2014 @ 3:50 pm (#)

    I can’t wait to try the Made Good Organic Granola Bars.

  35. lori+b — October 18, 2014 @ 4:07 pm (#)

    the granola bars

  36. Julie+G. — October 18, 2014 @ 4:11 pm (#)

    I’m looking forward to trying the Simply Natural Pasta Sauce. Looks yummy.

  37. Wendy+hutton — October 18, 2014 @ 4:36 pm (#)

    looking forward to trying the organic pasta sauce.

  38. sean pynaert — October 18, 2014 @ 5:51 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the chia yogurt

  39. Kristi — October 18, 2014 @ 5:54 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Made Good Minis.

  40. Sherry K — October 18, 2014 @ 6:19 pm (#)

    There are so many products I would love. I’ll say the Made Good Minis because they will be great for snacks and on yogurt.

  41. Tina+L. — October 18, 2014 @ 6:45 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Made Good Organic Granola Bars and Minis.

  42. Anne Perry — October 18, 2014 @ 8:12 pm (#)

    I am excited to try the pasta sauce.

  43. Jennifer+P. — October 18, 2014 @ 8:36 pm (#)

    I am most looking forward to trying Pamela’s Products Sugar Cookie Baking Mix.

  44. Alison K — October 18, 2014 @ 9:36 pm (#)

    I’m looking forward to trying the Made Good Organic Granola Bars and Minis, the most.

  45. Brenda Penton — October 19, 2014 @ 3:41 am (#)

    I most want to try the Olympic Dairy’s Chia yogurt

  46. Michelle MErcier — October 19, 2014 @ 6:12 am (#)

    the granola bars.

  47. thomas rusinak — October 19, 2014 @ 7:03 am (#)

    a healthy gift basket….great prize

  48. thomas+rusinak — October 19, 2014 @ 7:04 am (#)

    simply organic natural pasta

  49. Kevin B — October 19, 2014 @ 7:26 am (#)

    the chia yogurt

  50. Josh S — October 19, 2014 @ 12:29 pm (#)

    the Made Good Organic Granola Bars look great!

  51. Margaret H — October 19, 2014 @ 12:37 pm (#)

    the organic pasta

  52. Leslie+Brooks — October 19, 2014 @ 12:46 pm (#)

    the pasta sauce

  53. GARRY+S — October 19, 2014 @ 1:45 pm (#)

    PASTA SAUCES

  54. Julie+Bolduc — October 19, 2014 @ 2:23 pm (#)

    I would like to try the vodka cream sauce

  55. Nicky — October 19, 2014 @ 4:54 pm (#)

    the chia yogurt, because it looks both healthy and tasty!

  56. Nicole — October 19, 2014 @ 6:51 pm (#)

    I’m looking forward to trying the Made Good Organic Granola Bars

  57. Heidi+Carlson-reid — October 19, 2014 @ 7:21 pm (#)

    I would like to try the chia yogourt!

  58. Debbie+F — October 19, 2014 @ 7:46 pm (#)

    The Made Good Granola

  59. J — October 19, 2014 @ 7:48 pm (#)

    I’m looking forwards to the Made Good Made Good Organic Granola Bars because I’m feel a bit hungry and those look enticing.

  60. Maegan Morin — October 19, 2014 @ 11:30 pm (#)

    I am most excited to try the new Simply Natural Pasta sauces! I had tried the original ones and they were fantastic! Im anxious to try the new ones.

  61. nicolthepickle — October 20, 2014 @ 5:55 am (#)

    I would like to try the Made Good Organic Minis.

  62. angela+m — October 20, 2014 @ 9:05 am (#)

    I want to try the Natural Pasta Sauces
    thanks

  63. Melinda — October 20, 2014 @ 10:13 am (#)

    Made Good Organic Granola Bars and Minis would be perfect for hikes!

  64. tammy ta — October 20, 2014 @ 10:19 am (#)

    I’d like to try the pasta sauce first

  65. SweetPanda — October 20, 2014 @ 11:50 am (#)

    I am most looking forward to try the Hyland’s Homeopathic Baby Tiny Cold Tablets and Baby Cough Syrup

  66. Kateryna K — October 20, 2014 @ 3:25 pm (#)

    the simply natural pasta sauce

  67. glenda — October 20, 2014 @ 3:43 pm (#)

    the artisan flour blend sounds most intriguing.

  68. Suzie+M — October 20, 2014 @ 4:59 pm (#)

    The chia yogurt sounds interesting

  69. Calli — October 20, 2014 @ 7:38 pm (#)

    The Made Good Organic Granola Bars sound awesome!

  70. Miriam+Wilton — October 20, 2014 @ 10:17 pm (#)

    mmmmm the Chia Yogurt for sure!

  71. DianeG — October 21, 2014 @ 1:20 am (#)

    I’d try the Olympic Dairy Chia yogurt.

  72. kim ouellette — October 21, 2014 @ 3:14 am (#)

    The Simply Natural Pasta Sauces…they look delicous and chock full of healthy goodness

  73. LILLIAN BROWN — October 21, 2014 @ 4:25 am (#)

    The Made Good Granola for me

  74. Carolle H — October 21, 2014 @ 4:53 am (#)

    The Olympic Dairy’s Chia yogurt

  75. Bonnie Lam — October 21, 2014 @ 4:56 am (#)

    Yummy Granola Bars.

    Good luck to you all. Huggiez.

  76. Solducky — October 21, 2014 @ 9:33 am (#)

    The Hyland’s cold tablets!

  77. Tammy Gallagher — October 21, 2014 @ 12:02 pm (#)

    they all look good

  78. Tracy Martin — October 21, 2014 @ 12:33 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Chia yogurt

  79. Toby — October 21, 2014 @ 3:55 pm (#)

    The Chia Seeds sound wonderful!

  80. l p — October 21, 2014 @ 7:08 pm (#)

    Made Good Granola. thanks

  81. Heather — October 21, 2014 @ 8:14 pm (#)

    I would like to try the pasta sauces.

  82. Tammy — October 21, 2014 @ 9:34 pm (#)

    The cough syrup for my son and ohhhh hard to pick all looks and sounds delicious but will say pasta sauce being diabetic it is sometimes hard to find pasta sauce that tastes good

  83. Robert Wise — October 21, 2014 @ 9:34 pm (#)

    I’d love to try the Simply Natural pasta sauces the most.

  84. candice — October 22, 2014 @ 8:26 pm (#)

    made good granola bars!

  85. amber beer — October 23, 2014 @ 6:46 am (#)

    the pasta sauces sound really good.. low sodium is what I am always looking for

  86. Maja M. Pavlic — October 23, 2014 @ 8:11 am (#)

    Chia yogurt.

  87. Viv+Sluys — October 23, 2014 @ 9:10 am (#)

    I’m looking forward to trying the Made Good Organic Granola Bars.

  88. anna key — October 23, 2014 @ 6:56 pm (#)

    I’m most excited to try the Pamela’s Products Sugar Cookie Baking Mix

  89. Katrina Brady — October 24, 2014 @ 10:24 am (#)

    As a huge pasta lover, the simply natural pasta sauce

  90. Roz — October 24, 2014 @ 1:55 pm (#)

    I would love to try it all but I think I would choose the Pasta Sauce.

  91. Kayla Gilbert — October 24, 2014 @ 4:23 pm (#)

    The Organic Made Good Granola Snacks look awesome!

  92. aarone mawdsley — October 24, 2014 @ 6:08 pm (#)

    I want to try the natural pasta!

  93. Angie — October 25, 2014 @ 2:55 pm (#)

    The made good granola bar

  94. Elva+Roberts — October 25, 2014 @ 5:59 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Chia Yougart.

  95. Julie — October 26, 2014 @ 12:06 pm (#)

    Made Good granola bars!

  96. louise — October 26, 2014 @ 12:17 pm (#)

    J’ adore les pâtes, alors les sauces seraient mon choix.

  97. Jessica+Dow — October 26, 2014 @ 1:55 pm (#)

    I want to try the made good snacks.

  98. Hilary Falk — October 26, 2014 @ 3:39 pm (#)

    I would love to try the vodka cream sauce! Looks amazing!

  99. Carol Denny — October 27, 2014 @ 4:42 am (#)

    The Simply Natural Pasta Sauces.

  100. Amy+C — October 27, 2014 @ 9:07 am (#)

    I’m looking forward to the Made Good Organic Granola Bars.

  101. nikki robak — October 27, 2014 @ 5:10 pm (#)

    chia yogurt

  102. Sheila Vives — October 27, 2014 @ 9:31 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Made Good Granola

  103. Belinda+McNabb — October 28, 2014 @ 4:50 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces…

  104. tanyab79 — October 28, 2014 @ 5:42 pm (#)

    The Made Good Chocolate Banana sound good.

  105. Tracy D — October 28, 2014 @ 7:32 pm (#)

    I eat granola every day, so the Made Good Granola minis sounds great!

  106. Holly Messana — October 29, 2014 @ 10:00 am (#)

    The organic pasta sauces!

  107. Pam — October 30, 2014 @ 4:15 am (#)

    I would love to try the gluten free Pamela’s mixes.

  108. Karla+Sceviour — October 30, 2014 @ 6:39 pm (#)

    Definately the pasta sauce,,sounds super yummy!

  109. christy+e — October 30, 2014 @ 9:35 pm (#)

    Love to try the Made Good Organic granola bars – look so good and havent tried them yet

  110. Carole B. — October 31, 2014 @ 4:52 am (#)

    I’d like the Made Good Organic Granola Bars.

  111. Lucy — October 31, 2014 @ 10:44 am (#)

    the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces!

  112. David — October 31, 2014 @ 7:04 pm (#)

    Simply Natural Pasta Sauces

  113. Wanda+Tracey — October 31, 2014 @ 8:00 pm (#)

    I am looking forward to trying the Made Good organic granola bars.:D

  114. holly+o'gorman — November 1, 2014 @ 8:54 am (#)

    The granola bars sound SO yummy!

  115. Margaret Imecs — November 1, 2014 @ 12:40 pm (#)

    Olympic Dairy’s new Chia yogurt

  116. Marisa — November 1, 2014 @ 7:26 pm (#)

    My boys really love pasta, so the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces!

  117. Amber+Y — November 2, 2014 @ 4:05 am (#)

    i’m most excited to try the The Simply Natural Pasta Sauces. we eat a lot of pasta.

  118. nicoleroannef — November 2, 2014 @ 7:07 pm (#)

    I would love to try the pasta sauces!

  119. Angie+Andrews — November 3, 2014 @ 9:35 am (#)

    the granola bars look really good

  120. Piroska — November 3, 2014 @ 6:34 pm (#)

    I’d love to try the Olympic Chia Yogurt.

  121. Nicole W. — November 3, 2014 @ 6:52 pm (#)

    I would love to try the pasta sauce, as pasta is one of the few dishes I can make well! (My husband does most of the cooking!) Thanks for the awesome giveaway! 🙂

  122. Precisely Mine — November 4, 2014 @ 4:14 am (#)

    I want to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces.

  123. darci — November 4, 2014 @ 6:26 am (#)

    Love to try the vodka cream pasta sauce!

  124. Laurie+P — November 4, 2014 @ 6:56 am (#)

    Most curious about the Allimax.

  125. roger+simmons — November 4, 2014 @ 6:51 pm (#)

    The Sugar Cookies

  126. Karry+Knisley — November 4, 2014 @ 7:41 pm (#)

    The made good granola sounds delicious

  127. patty george — November 5, 2014 @ 4:12 am (#)

    the simply natural pasta sauce would be the first thing I would try

  128. Athena — November 6, 2014 @ 3:42 pm (#)

    The pasta sauce

  129. Britany — November 6, 2014 @ 4:45 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the pasta sauces.

  130. Angela+Mitchell — November 6, 2014 @ 10:39 pm (#)

    I’m most interested in trying the Made Good Organic Minis.

  131. Maggie+C — November 7, 2014 @ 3:59 am (#)

    I’m looking forward to trying the Made Good Organic Granola Bars!! MMmMm

  132. Joanne Horner — November 7, 2014 @ 4:24 am (#)

    Since getting cancer I try and cook healthy. Great prize.

  133. Tava — November 7, 2014 @ 12:57 pm (#)

    Made Good Organic Granola Bars and Minis … haven’t seen these in store yet would be eager to try them – can’t go wrong with Made Good in general

  134. melissa+m — November 8, 2014 @ 3:52 pm (#)

    i would love to try the good organic granola

  135. Marlene — November 9, 2014 @ 6:43 am (#)

    Simply Natural Pasta Sauces…

  136. Bev — November 9, 2014 @ 2:04 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Olympic Dairy Chia yogurt!

  137. Gene — November 9, 2014 @ 3:10 pm (#)

    any of the organic sauces

  138. Irene+Eichler — November 10, 2014 @ 11:21 am (#)

    the Made Good Granola Bars

  139. Brenda+Lacourciere — November 12, 2014 @ 2:58 pm (#)

    Love to try the baby cough syrup

  140. Christina A. — November 13, 2014 @ 11:56 pm (#)

    I would say…the pasta sauces! Yum!

    • Christina+A. — November 14, 2014 @ 12:00 am (#)

      Okay…got a pretty good way through entering when I realized this is only open to Canadians! I’m in the US…sorry! 🙂

  141. Tanis — November 14, 2014 @ 10:21 pm (#)

    The Baby Cough Syrup for our little one.

  142. sarah w — November 14, 2014 @ 11:25 pm (#)

    I really want to try the Made Good Organic Granola Bars.

  143. Betty S — November 16, 2014 @ 8:38 am (#)

    I would love to try the Simply Natural Pasta Sauces

  144. Tara Gauthier — November 16, 2014 @ 8:54 am (#)

    I am looking forward to the Pamela’s products.

Leave a Comment