Monkey Mat: Portable Lightweight Mat Review {Giveaway}

Monkey Mat Giveaway!

The Monkey Mat is a portable lightweight and washable oversized mat (5-foot-by-5-foot) that is perfect to take with you to the beach, the park, backyard, play dates, picnics, hotels and more.

The Monkey Mat is made of durable and waterproof nylon that is machine washable and water repellant. Liquid spills are easily wiped right up and any dirt, sand, grass or mess shakes off easily!

I received a Monkey Mat to review and I absolutely love it. It truly is a must have for parents everywhere. First, I love that the mat is super lightweight and nowhere near as bulky as a blanket or beach towel. The Monkey Mat comes in its own bag that is small enough to carry inside of your purse or diaper bag, you can also clip it to your stroller’s handle on the go.

Monkey Mat

I also love that the Monkey Mat features weighted corners with loops that allow you to secure the mat to the ground, wonderful when you are at the beach or the park with a wriggly child.  They also added loops in the center of the mat to clip infant toys, keys or other items you want to keep handy.

I recommend you visit www.monkeymat.com to learn more about the Monkey Mat and the mom behind the idea. You can also get your own and choose from a variety of fun colours available ($39.99 each). We have been using ours all the time this summer, I love having it in my purse at all times!

Monkey Mat

Win it: One very lucky US/CAN reader will win a Monkey Mat (colour of their choice). Enter to win via Rafflecopter below. Good Luck!

Disclosure: I received a sample of a product to facilitate this post. All views and opinions stated on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Angela V

Founder and Writer at One Smiley Monkey blog
Hi, my name is Angela van Tijn and I live in Vancouver, Canada with my wonderful husband, our two boys and our puppy. I am the founder and primary contributor behind One Smiley Monkey. Welcome to my blog!
    Pin It

184 responses to “Monkey Mat: Portable Lightweight Mat Review {Giveaway}”

  1. Lori Jackson — July 28, 2013 @ 2:14 pm (#)

    We go camping almost every weekend so this would be amazing for the kids!

  2. Kim Mellick — July 28, 2013 @ 2:18 pm (#)

    We would use it camping and at the park

  3. sarah — July 28, 2013 @ 2:25 pm (#)

    i would use it at the beach, or at the park

  4. caryn s — July 28, 2013 @ 2:35 pm (#)

    I would use a monkey mat when we take picnics to the park!

  5. stacey h — July 28, 2013 @ 2:42 pm (#)

    my step sister is expecting her first child next month – i would love to give this to her – i’m not sure where she would use it, but i’m sure she would use it a lot.

  6. Carol Denny — July 28, 2013 @ 2:43 pm (#)

    I would use it at the beach.

  7. Laurie Snow — July 28, 2013 @ 3:06 pm (#)

    at the beach

  8. Dayna Wilson — July 28, 2013 @ 3:09 pm (#)

    The park and the beach!

  9. Melissa B. — July 28, 2013 @ 3:13 pm (#)

    I would use it at the state park.

  10. Jennifer P — July 28, 2013 @ 3:21 pm (#)

    We would use it most at the park.

  11. Joce Lyne — July 28, 2013 @ 3:21 pm (#)

    the beach and the park

  12. Sam Stamp — July 28, 2013 @ 3:33 pm (#)

    We would use it in the backyard and at the park the most!

  13. Stephanie LaPlante — July 28, 2013 @ 3:35 pm (#)

    I would use this for everywhere but mostly the beach

  14. Jill — July 28, 2013 @ 4:06 pm (#)

    at the park

  15. Nicky — July 28, 2013 @ 4:25 pm (#)

    at the beach!

  16. Jeffrey — July 28, 2013 @ 4:45 pm (#)

    Beach/Backyard

  17. Deb Dorrington — July 28, 2013 @ 5:28 pm (#)

    I would use it in the park, at the beach and carry it with me when I travel on a plane.

  18. Jennifer D — July 28, 2013 @ 5:48 pm (#)

    In the backyard!

  19. Jonnie — July 28, 2013 @ 6:07 pm (#)

    I would use it in the backyard most for picnics

  20. Rachel — July 28, 2013 @ 6:25 pm (#)

    I’d use it in the backyard!

  21. Ashleigh Swerdfeger — July 28, 2013 @ 6:43 pm (#)

    Probably at the splash pad in the park or in our backyard.

  22. Tabitha P. — July 28, 2013 @ 7:02 pm (#)

    We would this in the park.
    Always need a clean place to rest.

  23. Kris Kipp — July 28, 2013 @ 7:09 pm (#)

    We would love to use this at the park.

  24. Julie Summa — July 28, 2013 @ 7:14 pm (#)

    I would use the Monkey Mat the most at the park! 🙂

  25. Dawn — July 28, 2013 @ 7:41 pm (#)

    I would use the Monkey Mat mostly at the park for picnics, listening to public music, plays or any other green space!

  26. Taleah — July 28, 2013 @ 7:56 pm (#)

    I would use the monkey mat outdoors to ward off the chiggers!

  27. marlene smith — July 28, 2013 @ 8:18 pm (#)

    i would use it at the park/backyard it’s just a perfect little mat and compactable to carry around in your bag i love it

  28. Tamar — July 28, 2013 @ 9:06 pm (#)

    I would use it in the home office.

  29. nickie — July 28, 2013 @ 9:08 pm (#)

    I’d take it to the beach

  30. Margaux - retrophiliac — July 28, 2013 @ 9:23 pm (#)

    The beach!!

  31. lena — July 28, 2013 @ 9:30 pm (#)

    Definitely at the park!!! I take my son and daughter all the time!!!

  32. ariel chiu — July 29, 2013 @ 12:39 am (#)

    at the park

  33. Jon — July 29, 2013 @ 12:42 am (#)

    Beach!!

  34. Laura — July 29, 2013 @ 3:11 am (#)

    We would LOVE a Monkey Mat to take to the local park for lots of picnic lunches!

  35. brooke t — July 29, 2013 @ 3:34 am (#)

    a picnic!

  36. Jon T — July 29, 2013 @ 3:41 am (#)

    Definitely the park, just down the street. Stay there the whole day with a picnic lunch.

  37. kate — July 29, 2013 @ 4:15 am (#)

    We would use this at a local park where we love to go picnicking!

  38. Jen B — July 29, 2013 @ 6:24 am (#)

    I would use this at the soccer fields for my daughter to sit/play on while her brother plays his game

  39. Kristen T — July 29, 2013 @ 6:34 am (#)

    AT THE BEACH

  40. Lauralee P — July 29, 2013 @ 6:51 am (#)

    I would use it at the beach or the park.

  41. Bailey Dexter — July 29, 2013 @ 6:55 am (#)

    I would keep this a my house for when the grandbabies come over & take it with me in the car for when we visit friends!

  42. Ronnerator — July 29, 2013 @ 7:01 am (#)

    Definitely the beach!

  43. Beth — July 29, 2013 @ 7:27 am (#)

    For camping!

  44. Celeste — July 29, 2013 @ 7:52 am (#)

    The beach!

  45. Elora — July 29, 2013 @ 8:35 am (#)

    the park!

  46. Charmaine T — July 29, 2013 @ 8:58 am (#)

    The park in the summer and probably my living room the rest of the time. My children always wanna have a picnic inside and pull out all their blankets.

  47. Valerie Taylor Mabrey — July 29, 2013 @ 9:28 am (#)

    at church events
    vmkids3 at msn dot com

  48. Jennifer Hayes — July 29, 2013 @ 10:04 am (#)

    We do so many outdoor activities with our 6 year old and now we have a 9 week old to throw in the mix. This would really cut down on the gear I need to pack! I love the carrying pouch for it.

  49. Darlene Schuller — July 29, 2013 @ 10:12 am (#)

    We’d use this a lot in our front yard… all year long pretty much. Kids play out there we sit out there.. we read, play games etc outside so this would be extremely handy.

  50. Ben James — July 29, 2013 @ 10:13 am (#)

    Our first is due at the end of the year, this looks like it would be a great addition to our baby stuff!

  51. Susan H — July 29, 2013 @ 10:15 am (#)

    I would use it at the Toronto beach!!

  52. mrdisco — July 29, 2013 @ 10:19 am (#)

    on a picnic!

  53. Kristen — July 29, 2013 @ 10:23 am (#)

    I would use it for picnics at the park by the river

  54. Julie — July 29, 2013 @ 10:24 am (#)

    So handy! Love how you could easily throw it in a diaper bag 🙂

  55. Gary Lin — July 29, 2013 @ 10:25 am (#)

    in my backyard!

  56. April Brenay — July 29, 2013 @ 10:52 am (#)

    we go to the drive in almost weekly, its very grassy and we like to lay out and watch the movies, this would be great for those fun summer nights!

  57. Helen — July 29, 2013 @ 11:23 am (#)

    Me and my dog Yoshi will love the Monkey Mat on our trips and hikes!

  58. May — July 29, 2013 @ 11:39 am (#)

    My family and I would use it at the beach and park!

  59. Katie K — July 29, 2013 @ 12:08 pm (#)

    at the park i think

  60. McKim — July 29, 2013 @ 12:13 pm (#)

    I would use it at the park.

  61. SweetPanda — July 29, 2013 @ 12:21 pm (#)

    We would probably use it the most at the parks

  62. Emily Murnen — July 29, 2013 @ 12:23 pm (#)

    We would use it at the park at least three times a week!!

  63. Gemma — July 29, 2013 @ 12:27 pm (#)

    I’m having a hard time thinking where I wouldn’t use this!!! It would definitely come in handy for camping, picnics at the park and backyard fun!

  64. Anna key — July 29, 2013 @ 12:34 pm (#)

    We would use the monkey mat the most at the park!

  65. Susan W — July 29, 2013 @ 1:13 pm (#)

    we would use it at the park for picnics!

  66. kila black — July 29, 2013 @ 1:48 pm (#)

    i would use this at the park! great for a nice picnic or read a book on while the kiddies play

  67. Sandi Tymchuk — July 29, 2013 @ 2:05 pm (#)

    I would like to give it to my sister-in-law for picnics in the park!

  68. Karen Thaeter — July 29, 2013 @ 2:12 pm (#)

    I would use this at the beach
    karenthaeter@hotmail.com

  69. Les Johnson — July 29, 2013 @ 2:34 pm (#)

    I would use it at the park.

  70. maegan delormem — July 29, 2013 @ 2:48 pm (#)

    I would use this at my moms to hang out in the back yard

  71. Amanda Alvarado — July 29, 2013 @ 3:01 pm (#)

    This would be awesome at the beach!

  72. l p — July 29, 2013 @ 3:06 pm (#)

    whenever we go out of the house. thanks

  73. Valerie Darsigny — July 29, 2013 @ 3:10 pm (#)

    I would keep it in my car and use it at the beach, the park 🙂 everywhere I can

  74. Julie G. — July 29, 2013 @ 3:12 pm (#)

    I’d use it on the deck.

  75. Ken Ohl — July 29, 2013 @ 3:31 pm (#)

    in the park

  76. anne perry — July 29, 2013 @ 4:09 pm (#)

    At the farmers market and concerts in the park.

  77. Alison K — July 29, 2013 @ 6:48 pm (#)

    I would use a Monkey Mat the most at the park. Great to be used as a picnic blanket as well, for the adults 🙂 Thanks for the introduction

  78. Brenda Witherspoon-Bedard — July 29, 2013 @ 7:32 pm (#)

    at the beach

  79. Amy C — July 29, 2013 @ 7:52 pm (#)

    I would use it at the park.

  80. Erika E — July 29, 2013 @ 8:09 pm (#)

    I would use it at the park. It would be great for spreading out to play and snack on.

  81. Tara — July 29, 2013 @ 9:37 pm (#)

    My kids love picnics and this looks great for either the beach, the park or just our backyard.

  82. Hey very nice blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb ..
    I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I’m satisfied to search out
    so many useful info right here within the put up, we’d like work out more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  83. Julie — July 30, 2013 @ 7:11 am (#)

    honestly, it has been awhile since I gone picniking; with this mat I’d also use to sunbathe.

  84. Elaine — July 30, 2013 @ 7:24 am (#)

    We would definitely use it when visiting friends and family to use as a blanket for naptime or at the park!

  85. JLin — July 30, 2013 @ 7:32 am (#)

    park or beach

  86. Beth Rosell — July 30, 2013 @ 8:33 am (#)

    I would most use the mat for going to the park or the Toronto Islands for the day

  87. lori butler — July 30, 2013 @ 8:37 am (#)

    it would be great for outdoor bbq’s

  88. Erin — July 30, 2013 @ 10:58 am (#)

    I’d use it at the local park!!

  89. farhiya — July 30, 2013 @ 11:48 am (#)

    The park !

  90. Mary — July 30, 2013 @ 12:31 pm (#)

    Wahoo!!:) id love one of these, for those backyard barbeques where you run out of kiddie-chairs, for the walks in the park when you pack a lunch, and those days where the grass is just to freshly cut to be comfortable on!:)

  91. nikki robak — July 30, 2013 @ 12:39 pm (#)

    I would use it at the park

  92. Clifford — July 30, 2013 @ 12:52 pm (#)

    We would use it at the park, we go there often so it would get plenty of use.

  93. Carole B. — July 30, 2013 @ 2:56 pm (#)

    In the park or for any outdoor activity

  94. jen s. — July 30, 2013 @ 8:15 pm (#)

    I’d use it most at the park. if i had the chance to spend more time at the beach then i would love to use it there as well.

  95. ana — July 30, 2013 @ 9:01 pm (#)

    friend’s house, the park, airport 🙂

  96. Tannis W — July 30, 2013 @ 10:17 pm (#)

    I think we would use it most in our backyard!

  97. Mary — July 31, 2013 @ 3:07 am (#)

    I would use it for going on a picnic with my grandkids. We enjoy being by the water and just having fun

  98. Julie bolduc — July 31, 2013 @ 7:28 am (#)

    We would use it at the park

  99. Eric Hunken — July 31, 2013 @ 10:28 am (#)

    Would use it at the lake.

  100. Fan R @ Teddy Out-Ready — July 31, 2013 @ 11:14 am (#)

    We would use it for our playdate.

  101. Rosemary — July 31, 2013 @ 11:16 am (#)

    at the park would be the best place because I don’t have to worry about grass stains getting on the clothes when I sit on the grass.

  102. andie — July 31, 2013 @ 4:02 pm (#)

    The backyard or on the go, the grandparents, etc.

  103. Marcus — July 31, 2013 @ 4:44 pm (#)

    I’d keep this ready for impromptu trips to the beach or park.

  104. Joey B — July 31, 2013 @ 6:20 pm (#)

    For sure at the lake!

  105. Connie Gruning — July 31, 2013 @ 9:09 pm (#)

    Trips to the beach and the park. I think I would leave this in the car! This would be awesome to own!

  106. Viv Sluys — July 31, 2013 @ 9:45 pm (#)

    Probably the park the most but definitely lots of use at the beach too!

  107. Becca — August 1, 2013 @ 3:24 am (#)

    I would use it inside and outside as a playmat, I think we would get a lot of use out of something like this.

  108. Carrie W. — August 1, 2013 @ 3:47 am (#)

    I would use it at the beach!

  109. Jen F — August 1, 2013 @ 5:18 am (#)

    I would use it the most camping or on the dock when my in-laws keep their boat

  110. Kim — August 1, 2013 @ 5:29 am (#)

    goin to the beach

  111. Jessica Gilbert — August 1, 2013 @ 5:32 am (#)

    we love picnics and this would be great!

  112. Rachel — August 1, 2013 @ 5:42 am (#)

    I would use it at the park and for picnics.

  113. Tara — August 1, 2013 @ 6:20 am (#)

    I’d use it at the park and at soccer games.

  114. Marcella — August 1, 2013 @ 7:33 am (#)

    In the kitchen for our newest little one to play on!

  115. Erika B — August 1, 2013 @ 8:00 am (#)

    We would use it at the park, Heritage Park, the zoo and in our own back yard!!

  116. Jeannie — August 1, 2013 @ 8:25 am (#)

    I would use the monkey mat at the park.

  117. Leah — August 1, 2013 @ 8:30 am (#)

    I would use it at the cottage

  118. Lindsay Cyr — August 1, 2013 @ 9:33 am (#)

    I would probably use it all over the house when I put the baby down for tummy time and most definitely at the beach!

  119. Karen Hanlon — August 1, 2013 @ 10:32 am (#)

    this would be great for the grandkids when they come to visit

  120. Cindy Nickerson — August 1, 2013 @ 12:17 pm (#)

    I would use it at the beach , the park, around the yard and take it on road trips just in case 🙂

  121. Brandi Powell — August 1, 2013 @ 12:45 pm (#)

    I would use it the most for picnic lunches, and going to the beach with my daughter!

  122. christine jessamine — August 1, 2013 @ 1:31 pm (#)

    we would take this with us to the park!

  123. Anastasia @ eco-babyz — August 1, 2013 @ 2:39 pm (#)

    at our park/playground

  124. Holly Kennedy — August 1, 2013 @ 4:44 pm (#)

    For picnics and parks!

  125. eleanor — August 1, 2013 @ 4:46 pm (#)

    I’d use it in the backyard and at family and friends’ backyard or porch or patio.

  126. seham — August 1, 2013 @ 5:19 pm (#)

    backyard

  127. meegan whitford — August 1, 2013 @ 5:27 pm (#)

    camping picnics or when we visit relatives

  128. Claiborne — August 1, 2013 @ 6:20 pm (#)

    I’d love to use it at the park!

  129. christy i — August 1, 2013 @ 7:33 pm (#)

    I think I would use this at the park the most 🙂

  130. laura — August 1, 2013 @ 9:26 pm (#)

    I would use it for picnics at the park

  131. Catherine Robichaud — August 2, 2013 @ 11:29 am (#)

    We would use it at the beach and in our backyard.

  132. Brooke B — August 3, 2013 @ 5:28 pm (#)

    we play out in the yard a lot and i like to be able to sit on the grass. unfortunately our lawn is not the greatest and i tend to get dirty. i would use this mat all the time when out in our yard with the kids. it’s a perfect play spot for the baby too.

  133. Jennifer — August 3, 2013 @ 8:42 pm (#)

    I would use this at the park.

  134. Julia H — August 4, 2013 @ 2:30 am (#)

    I’d use it at the park….I hate going there and then sitting on damp grass!

  135. sarah sar — August 4, 2013 @ 3:27 am (#)

    I will use this on picnics and at the beach

  136. Michelle Armstrong — August 4, 2013 @ 11:27 am (#)

    I would use it at the splash pad. We have playdate picnics. 🙂

  137. Nancy — August 4, 2013 @ 4:23 pm (#)

    Mostly at the beach and maybe have use for inside too.

  138. Christine — August 4, 2013 @ 7:08 pm (#)

    would use at the beach

  139. Sylvia Aitken — August 5, 2013 @ 9:25 am (#)

    Would use this when we go to the park…!!!

  140. Wanda Bergman — August 5, 2013 @ 1:30 pm (#)

    It would be used most often in the family room.

  141. Ester G — August 5, 2013 @ 1:56 pm (#)

    at friends houses who have pets (we are allergic)

  142. Sylvia — August 6, 2013 @ 11:58 am (#)

    My kids/grandkids would love this…!!!

  143. Dylan — August 8, 2013 @ 12:50 am (#)

    I’ve been looking for something like this

  144. Michelle — August 8, 2013 @ 2:40 pm (#)

    At Folk Fests! It would be awesome for both my babes to crawl around on especially when the grass is dewy

  145. SueSueper Sue — August 8, 2013 @ 5:48 pm (#)

    This would be awesome to take on a picnic.

  146. heather — August 8, 2013 @ 10:47 pm (#)

    at the beach

  147. beth c — August 10, 2013 @ 10:40 am (#)

    at the park and forest school, which we attend every monday! thanks for the fun giveaway- this would be a very handy thing to have!

  148. Jody Sisson — August 11, 2013 @ 12:30 pm (#)

    We would use it most on our camping trips.

  149. Melissa Avey — August 12, 2013 @ 9:53 pm (#)

    beach and parks!

  150. Angela Mitchell — August 12, 2013 @ 10:00 pm (#)

    The park for picnics.

  151. Elizabeth Matthiesen — August 15, 2013 @ 10:53 am (#)

    I’d take this to Australia for my grandson, it would be ideal to use on the beaches there.

  152. andie — August 16, 2013 @ 6:18 am (#)

    Perfect for trips to the park, picnics are our favourites.

  153. Elizabeth Boswell — August 16, 2013 @ 10:38 am (#)

    I would take the Monkey Mat to the beach as well as to fireworks displays and outdoor concerts.

  154. Jennifer — August 16, 2013 @ 11:51 am (#)

    this would be perfect for camping and picnic dinners!

  155. polly — August 16, 2013 @ 1:59 pm (#)

    I would use it in the backyard when our grandsons are visiting or in the family room for their toys

  156. Tina L. — August 16, 2013 @ 7:21 pm (#)

    we would use it at the beach or park.

  157. Samorjj — August 17, 2013 @ 3:25 pm (#)

    This would be awesome for the local park we walk to. I would leave it in the bottom of the stroller so it is always handy.

  158. tennille — August 17, 2013 @ 11:40 pm (#)

    the beach and the park!

  159. molli vandehey — August 20, 2013 @ 10:32 pm (#)

    at the park !

  160. anita nickerson — August 23, 2013 @ 10:59 am (#)

    when seeing outdoor concerts

  161. caroline m. — August 24, 2013 @ 12:33 pm (#)

    in waiting rooms or other impromptu play areas.

  162. natasha severson — August 25, 2013 @ 6:31 am (#)

    in my yard!!

  163. sarah miller — August 25, 2013 @ 6:37 am (#)

    I would keep it in my car, for impromptu stops… at the park.beach, friends backyards!

  164. Kim G — August 25, 2013 @ 7:01 am (#)

    The beach

  165. wendy dickinson — August 25, 2013 @ 8:39 am (#)

    Any where outside – like a picnic or camping.

  166. Heather Manu — August 25, 2013 @ 8:41 pm (#)

    This would be great for the park, camping, and the beach.

  167. Jill Myrick — August 26, 2013 @ 2:26 pm (#)

    I would use this on floors when we go to visit family and friends. But it would also be perfect to take when we are going to the park for the day.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  168. Eileen Burke — August 26, 2013 @ 3:33 pm (#)

    At the park for picnics!

  169. Susan Meyer — August 26, 2013 @ 5:17 pm (#)

    I would give it to my grandson for him to chose when to use it .

  170. Rebecca Peters — August 27, 2013 @ 7:47 am (#)

    We would use it in our backyard!

  171. ChristyM — August 27, 2013 @ 10:40 am (#)

    I would use Monkey Mat both at the beach and in my backyard for picnics. Looks like a great product!

  172. Brenda — August 27, 2013 @ 11:45 am (#)

    Would love one of these for the beach. Would be a bit of a defense against the sand getting on/in everything. I love how it packs down so small too

  173. Erica C. — August 27, 2013 @ 7:38 pm (#)

    It would be great for the yard and the park.

  174. Brittney House — August 27, 2013 @ 9:54 pm (#)

    At the park.

  175. Kelly H. — August 27, 2013 @ 11:02 pm (#)

    I would use this at picnics.

  176. Sarah Z — August 28, 2013 @ 10:42 am (#)

    At volleyball tournaments when we have a break to eat!

  177. Rhian — August 28, 2013 @ 11:16 am (#)

    At parks!

  178. Julie Goetz — August 28, 2013 @ 2:53 pm (#)

    I would use it in our backyard for when my daughter wants to play outside.

  179. Suzanne M — August 28, 2013 @ 3:57 pm (#)

    I would use it at the park or at friend’s houses!

  180. Linda W. — August 28, 2013 @ 4:18 pm (#)

    The beach.

  181. liz l — August 28, 2013 @ 5:02 pm (#)

    probably at the beach

  182. susan smoaks — August 28, 2013 @ 5:04 pm (#)

    i would use this at my mother in laws house

  183. Mihaela D. — August 28, 2013 @ 5:53 pm (#)

    I would use it at the beach

  184. Breanne — August 28, 2013 @ 8:14 pm (#)

    I’d use it at the park.

Leave a Comment