7 Must Watch Crime Shows on Netflix

If you are looking for a new good crime series to binge watch on Netflix then look no further. Below is a round-up of the best crime shows available on Netflix Canada right now. We’ve watched all these seven shows and they are all binge-worthy.

So get the kids in bed, make yourself a cuppa and enjoy!

7 Must Watch Crime Shows on Netflix

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

Happy Valley 

Catherine Cawood is a no-nonsense police sergeant who heads up a team of officers in a rural Yorkshire valley. When a staged kidnapping spirals out of control turning into a brutal series of crimes, Catherine finds herself involved in something significantly bigger than her rank, but unknowingly close to home. British Crime Drama.

iMDb rating: 8.5/10

Our thoughts: Dark gritty drama filled with plot twists. Excellent and believable acting.

—–

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

The Bridge 

When a body is found on a bridge between Denmark and Sweden, a Danish inspector and a Swedish detective must work together to find the killer.  Scandinavian Crime Television Series.

iMDb rating: 8.6/10

Our thoughts: Well written, well-balanced storyline. Realistic with lots of suspense and plot twists.

—–

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

Broadchurch

When the corpse of an 11-year-old British boy, Danny Latimer, is found bloodied and dirty on an idyllic beach, a small Dorset community becomes the focus of a police investigation and media madness. British Crime Drama.

iMDb rating:  8.4/10

Our thoughts: Dark, small-town crime drama. Excellent acting, lots of tension and story twists.

—–

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

Wentworth

Bea Smith is locked up while awaiting trial for the attempted murder of her husband and must learn how life works in prison. Contemporary revival of a classic Australian prison drama series.

iMDb rating: 8.7/10

Our thoughts: If you love OITNB then you’ll love Wentworth. It is a much darker version. Intense.

—–

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

Line of Duty 

DS Steve Arnott refuses to be involved in a police cover-up, then joins an anti-corruption team after the death of a man in a mistaken shooting during a counter-terrorist operation.

iMDb rating: 8.5/10

Our thoughts: Intense drama, investigation of corrupt police officers. Lots of plot twists and strong believable characters.

—–

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

Shetland 

Shetland is a BBC Scotland crime drama television series starring Douglas Henshall as Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez.  Featuring multiple murder mysteries set against the stunning backdrop of the Shetland Isles.

iMDb rating: 7.9/10

Our thoughts: If you love a good crime mystery then you’ll love Shetland. Love the stunning scenery of the Shetland Isles and the many plot twists.

——

7 Must Watch Crime Shows in Netflix

The Five

Twenty years after 5-year-old Jesse disappears near him home, his DNA turns up at the scene of a woman’s murder, baffling his family and the police. British Crime Drama based on a novel by Harlan Coben.

iMDb rating: 7.7/10

Our thoughts: I wasn’t convinced to watch when I saw the lower rating but the synopsis made me watch. Lots of tension and suspense, a good thrilling drama that will make you binge watch it.

—-

Do you have any recommendations to add to our list? Would love to know!

Disclosure: I am a Netflix StreamTeam member. However, all opinions and views on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Angela V

Founder and Writer at One Smiley Monkey blog
Hi, my name is Angela and I am a Canadian mom living in Vancouver with my wonderful husband and two happy little boys. I am the founder and primary contributor behind One Smiley Monkey. Welcome to my blog!
    Pin It

5 responses to “7 Must Watch Crime Shows on Netflix”

  1. nicky — October 11, 2017 @ 2:30 pm (#
    1
    )

    I liked Broadchurch – really kept me enthralled. Next I want to check out The Bridge.

    Reply

  2. loriag — October 11, 2017 @ 5:35 pm (#
    2
    )

    Lovely, I now have some more binging to do! Thanks for the reviews I will check them out.

    Reply

  3. Elizabeth Matthiesen — October 11, 2017 @ 6:59 pm (#
    3
    )

    I enjoyed Broadchurch very much and I’ve seen some of Shetland which has spectacular scenery. I love a good Scandinavian series so The Bridge will suit me very well. Crime series are the genre that I mostly watch.

    Reply

  4. kathy downey — October 12, 2017 @ 6:27 am (#
    4
    )

    Thanks for the link i’m going to check out Broadchurch on the weekend.I love Wentworth!

    Reply

  5. kristen visser — October 12, 2017 @ 11:21 am (#
    5
    )

    I haven’t heard of any of these! I will have to check them out! right now i have a couple others on the go. Riverdale, Ozark and soon Stranger things. So at some point i will be able to make some time to watch some more

    Reply

Leave a Comment