Groovy Lab in a Box {Review & Giveaway}

groovy box

I need to get this out of the way right now:  Groovy Lab in a Box is so awesome I don’t think this review will do it justice.  But here goes:  There are a variety of monthly subscription-based educational and crafting “kits” on the market, but what makes the award-winning Groovy Lab in a Box stand out is that its contents are specifically hands-on science fun delivered monthly, based on the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).

According to their website, with a subscription to Groovy Lab in a Box, you will receive boxes full of everything you need to learn about and do hands on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) experiments for ages 8+.   The contents are not intended to just be assembled, but rather to inspire scientific imagination, determination and critical thinking.

groovy

The box we received was themed, “Here Comes the Sun” with the engineering design challenge: “You’re shipwrecked on a deserted island with only your Groovy Lab in a Box.  Inside your groovy box are the materials to design and build a solar balloon, solar oven, conductivity tester and desalination plant.  How can you eat, drink and get someone to rescue you using only your Groovy Lab in a Box materials?”  Seriously, does learning get any cooler than this?

groovy box

While the contents are designed for children 8 years and older, it can be adapted down to suit younger children.  Our almost 3 year old (who recently built her own Mars rover out of a berry carton and disposable spoons) went wild working through the various projects in our Groovy Lab in  a Box.  Obviously, my husband and I had to help with cutting the cardboard, etc, but our daughter was engaged throughout the process and asked some very thoughtful questions that confirmed she was “getting it.”

The box contained just about everything we needed to complete each activity.  We did need to fill the bowl with water from our sink and use our own pair of scissors to cut the cardboard box.  But otherwise the box contained all necessary items, including the little things like glue, tape, string, batteries and salt.  The adhesive tape included in the box was a little wimpy so we found it easier to upgrade to our trusty roll of packing tape (I use that stuff on EVERYTHING!) to assemble and line the solar oven.  The solar oven, by the way, was built out of the groovy box itself.  Two thumbs way up from this green mama for using every bit of the kit so cleverly!

How hard is it to make a solar oven with a three year old, you ask?  Not hard at all because (unlike IKEA manuals) the instruction booklet included in our box has clear written directions with perfectly accurate corresponding illustrations.  Because of this, our preschooler could “read” the instructions just by looking at the differences between illustrations.

groovy box

We lucked out with extremely hot, sunny weather this week so had no trouble experimenting with the different projects in our solar-themed box.  Our daughter enjoyed flying the solar balloon off our patio, making “crayon soup” in the solar oven and testing various materials for their conductivity with the supplied 9-volt battery and a buzzer.  While I knew our daughter was enjoying the activities with my husband and I, it wasn’t until we shared the projects with our playgroup (girls age 3-6) at the park that I saw the wheels of imagination turning.  And that collective imagination was magnetic.  Stray children around the park joined our playgroup in the science fun.  Moms approached me asking where I got the unique projects and I was more than happy to share with them the Groovy Lab in a Box web address.

Here is just one example: as the girls huddled around, one took the conductivity kit (the 9v battery and buzzer) and curiously tested it on the foil-lined solar oven.  It buzzed!  So I asked the group, “if this foil paper conducts electricity and makes the buzzer sound, do you think there are other surfaces in the park that could also conduct the electricity to sound the buzzer?”  After a brief discussion about the difference in surfaces (plastic/wood/metal/etc), they raced off in a pack, testing the buzzer on everything they thought was metal around the park – swing chains, water fountains and slides – squealing with delight each time the buzzer sounded.  Watching my child get this excited about learning is priceless.  And to think that excitement can be shipped to us in a box each month is pure magic!

girls playing groovy box

The pricing of Groovy Lab in a Box is totally reasonable for the superior quality of content and varies based on subscription length.  Single boxes are available to purchase for $33.95 USD while pre-paid 12-month subscriptions reduce the price to $23.95 USD a month. And the website, www.groovylabinabox.com makes it super simple to order for your own child or to give as a gift for other budding scientists in your life.

THE GIVEAWAY

Win it: One lucky US/CAN reader will win a Groovy Lab in a Box. Enter to win below win Rafflecopter. Good Luck!

Disclosure: I received a sample of a product to facilitate my review. No other compensation was provided and all views and opinions stated on this post are 100% my own.

Allison Baltzersen is a mother of two baby girls and blogs about her bumblings through green parenting over at Funny Shade of Green.

The following two tabs change content below.

Allison Baltzersen

Allison Baltzersen is a green mama, raising her two little girls to enjoy childhood, ask lots of questions, and be kind to the Earth.

Latest posts by Allison Baltzersen (see all)

    Pin It

54 responses to “Groovy Lab in a Box {Review & Giveaway}”

  1. SammyS. — July 22, 2014 @ 10:37 am (#)

    Fun educational projects are perfect for toddlers. They learn so much while at “play”. Thanks for sharing.

  2. jan — July 22, 2014 @ 11:22 am (#)

    very unique item that the kids would enjoy doing – plus it keeps them away from the electronic toys for a while

  3. William Stewart — July 22, 2014 @ 12:19 pm (#)

    This looks like so much fun!

  4. Susan W — July 22, 2014 @ 12:44 pm (#)

    I would love to win for my niece. She really loves science.

  5. Jonnie — July 22, 2014 @ 12:45 pm (#)

    I would love ot win because this looks like a really creative and cool way to spend a day.

  6. Emily Linton — July 22, 2014 @ 1:50 pm (#)

    I would love to give this to my nephew – he loves stuff like this!

  7. Angela Mitchell — July 22, 2014 @ 2:33 pm (#)

    My daughter is really into science right now and wants to grow to be a scientist or detective soI think she’d really enjoy this!

  8. Amber D. — July 22, 2014 @ 2:51 pm (#)

    We would love to do this for science! We homeschool so we are always looking for fun curriculum! Thanks for the chance!

  9. aarone m — July 22, 2014 @ 6:28 pm (#)

    Id like to win because it would be a fun thing to have!

  10. Taylor Hawkins — July 22, 2014 @ 7:02 pm (#)

    My kids love to create and get mail 🙂

  11. Jeannie — July 22, 2014 @ 11:30 pm (#)

    I would love to win because it looks like a lot of fun.

  12. Jeff Skidmore — July 23, 2014 @ 3:53 am (#)

    For my 7 yr. old niece, she would love this!

  13. Jon T — July 23, 2014 @ 3:54 am (#)

    I loved science kits when I was young and would love to share this with my son.

  14. lori b — July 23, 2014 @ 4:49 am (#)

    i would like to win for my nephews

  15. Jennifer P. — July 23, 2014 @ 3:40 pm (#)

    I would love to win this because my daughter is a little scientist / architect / engineer at heart (just like her dad!) and she would really enjoy this!

  16. Dayna Wilson — July 23, 2014 @ 9:32 pm (#)

    I’d love to gift this to my nephews, it seems right up their alley.

  17. Andrea Amy — July 23, 2014 @ 11:51 pm (#)

    I would love to win for my son. He LOVES things like this 🙂

  18. charityk — July 24, 2014 @ 5:48 pm (#)

    my kids would love this

  19. Silvia D — July 25, 2014 @ 6:45 pm (#)

    I would love this todo with the kids, a great way to show new things to them!

  20. Laurie B — July 25, 2014 @ 9:37 pm (#)

    I would like to win because my children are always exploring and examining everything. Having something for them to explore with hands on would be fabulous.

  21. eleanor — July 26, 2014 @ 7:00 pm (#)

    I would love to win this for my son. I love to watch him learn and discover new and interesting things.

  22. Erin W — July 27, 2014 @ 7:20 am (#)

    I’d love to win this for my husband. He loves doing things like this with our daughter.

  23. Heidi Carlson-reid — July 27, 2014 @ 7:42 pm (#)

    My girls love science and would have a lot of fun with this!

  24. Alison K — July 27, 2014 @ 8:46 pm (#)

    I would love to win this as my nephew is so inquisitive & would adore this.

  25. Maryanne — July 27, 2014 @ 9:08 pm (#)

    I would love to share this with my STEM interested nephew!

  26. Amanda Alvarado — July 27, 2014 @ 9:10 pm (#)

    Dd loves science so she would really enjoy this box!

  27. Stephanie LaPlante — July 28, 2014 @ 8:45 am (#)

    I would love to win because my little cousins would really enjoy it.

  28. Kayla Gilbert — July 28, 2014 @ 12:37 pm (#)

    I think the whole concept is a great idea and I’d love to try it first, before purchasing it.

  29. Bonn — July 28, 2014 @ 12:39 pm (#)

    I agree, good concept.

  30. Jana G — July 29, 2014 @ 7:35 am (#)

    Would love to win this. Great review. Thanks.

  31. Cinella — July 29, 2014 @ 10:05 pm (#)

    My daughters birthday is coming up! She would love this!

  32. Kris T — July 30, 2014 @ 1:20 am (#)

    STEM project subscription box is a fabulous concept. I love the concept of a project in a box. My kids will be all over this!

  33. Adrianne B — July 31, 2014 @ 12:54 pm (#)

    I’d love to win this as a family activity we could do with my daughter!

  34. andie — July 31, 2014 @ 1:05 pm (#)

    This would be a great way to pass a summer afternoon with the kids – hoping to win!!

  35. Heather M. — July 31, 2014 @ 1:16 pm (#)

    My older son would love this. He really enjoys learning about science.

  36. Yuen C — July 31, 2014 @ 5:53 pm (#)

    I want to win because it would be a great gift to my sister’s son!

  37. danielle t — July 31, 2014 @ 6:21 pm (#)

    love doing little projects with my kids. this would be amazing to get things started.

  38. Elizabeth — August 3, 2014 @ 1:08 pm (#)

    These experiments look like so much fun, and such a great way to develop exploration and scientific thinking!

  39. Sabrina Tong — August 5, 2014 @ 7:13 pm (#)

    My 3yr old daughter is already obsessed with science and with a subscription such as this, we could spend more time experimenting than mommy googling science experiments for kids 🙂

  40. OjibweKids — August 7, 2014 @ 5:19 pm (#)

    I would love to win because my 8 year old son & 4 year old daughter love craft kits & love science! We would love to try this.

  41. Julie F — August 10, 2014 @ 10:38 am (#)

    I love toys that are educational and my eldest grandson would have so much fun with this!

  42. Nancy J Montgomery — August 10, 2014 @ 2:00 pm (#)

    I’ve always believed in educational gifts.

  43. missbobloblaw — August 14, 2014 @ 1:20 am (#)

    I’d love to win because this looks like something the whole family could have fun with!

  44. K Anne — August 14, 2014 @ 8:32 pm (#)

    I would love to win this for my youngest son who loves science experiments. This would be a great Christmas present.

  45. Ken Ohl — August 16, 2014 @ 11:55 am (#)

    my niece would love for me to win this.

  46. Katharine W — August 17, 2014 @ 2:59 pm (#)

    Something different than what my girls are used to playing with and can be used as a family activity too.

  47. Mei — August 17, 2014 @ 7:51 pm (#)

    My son would love this. He’s really into crafts and projects

  48. Robb — August 18, 2014 @ 6:37 am (#)

    I’d love to teach my dear daughter to be curious and explore science as something fun and fascinating. Winning this would be great!

  49. Ann Marie — August 20, 2014 @ 6:27 am (#)

    I would love to win this for my boys, to stimulate their curiosity in a way that teaches them without them even knowing it!

  50. Katy Emanuel — August 21, 2014 @ 3:49 am (#)

    This would be great for an activity to do with my daughter while my little one sleeps.

  51. Tara Gauthier — August 21, 2014 @ 6:57 am (#)

    This would be great for my kids who love to learn and do fun activities like these!

  52. Erika E — August 21, 2014 @ 3:28 pm (#)

    We love doing science experiments so we would enjoy this for sure!

  53. mongupp — August 22, 2014 @ 2:10 am (#)

    A great way to encourage my kids to learn about science!

  54. Holli G. — August 22, 2014 @ 2:23 am (#)

    I’d love to win for my son.

Leave a Comment