Disney’s The BFG: Available on Digital HD and Blu-ray Now {Giveaway}

BFG

Disney’s “The BFG” directed by Steven Spielberg is now available on Digital HD, Blu-ray™, perfect for the holidays!

In our family we are big Roald Dahl fans and we enjoy reading his books to the boys. We have all  read the BFG and we were eager to see the film adaptation. The movie script stuck quite closely to the original story so there are not too many surprises with respect to the plot. I also thought the visual interpretation of the way the BFG and other giants looked was quite close to the simple sketches found in the original story too.

Visually the movie was stunning and being a Spielberg production the FX were top notch. There was also a clear sense of attention to small details and that the people involved must have been fans of the original. The film did a good job of downplaying some of the gruesome activities the bad giants partake in so as not to frighten younger viewers while still maintaining a suitable level of “grotesqueness”. My 6-year-old seemed quite engaged throughout the whole movie but he especially loved the silly parts like when the Queen of England was given a little too much of a certain special fizzy drink.
We loved the bonus features, including a behind-the-scenes look at the making of “The BFG” hosted by Ruby Barnhill and featuring Steven Spielberg; a charming, all-new short; a fun and whimsical tutorial on the Big Friendly Giant’s unique language of Gobblefunk; a touching tribute to screenwriter Melissa Mathison (“E.T. the Extraterrestrial,” “The Black Stallion”); and more.

All in all it was a very enjoyable movie. If you are a fan of the original BFG story then you will love the Blu-ray.

THE GIVEAWAY

Win it: One lucky Canadian reader 18+ will win a copy of Disney’s The BFG on Digital HD and Blu-ray. Enter to WIN by commenting below and letting me know why you would like to win. Ends Dec 15th at 12pmPST.

Be sure to share this contest and the Facebook post with family and friends! Good Luck all!

Disclosure: This is a partnered post with Disney. A product sample has been received for this review and all opinions and views on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Angela V

Founder and Writer at One Smiley Monkey blog
Hi, my name is Angela van Tijn and I live in Vancouver, Canada with my wonderful husband, our two boys and our puppy. I am the founder and primary contributor behind One Smiley Monkey. Welcome to my blog!
    Pin It

43 responses to “Disney’s The BFG: Available on Digital HD and Blu-ray Now {Giveaway}”

  1. NickyJ — December 2, 2016 @ 7:24 am (#)

    I would love to watch this movie with my daughter.. and maybe her teenage brothers will sit for it too

  2. Stephanie LaPlante — December 2, 2016 @ 10:01 am (#)

    I would like to win because this was my favorite book as a kid and I’d love to watch this with my little cousins!

  3. Jeannie — December 2, 2016 @ 11:38 am (#)

    I would love to win because I haven’t seen BFG, but LOVE LOVE LOVEd the book!

  4. Jennifer P. — December 2, 2016 @ 11:43 am (#)

    I would love to win because we are big Roald Dahl fans and my older daughter started reading his books this year. I would love to win this for her and I to watch together.

  5. Elizabeth Matthiesen — December 2, 2016 @ 12:20 pm (#)

    From your review it sounds like this is a great movie and I’d love to watch this with my grandchildren. 🙂

  6. Catherine C — December 2, 2016 @ 1:23 pm (#)

    I would love to win this because I grew up reading this book back in elementary school! I would love to see the movie and share it with my daughter. Thank you for the giveaway!

  7. Maryanne — December 2, 2016 @ 2:09 pm (#)

    My son loved this movie so I am sure he would want to watch it again and again and again!

  8. Florence Cochrane — December 2, 2016 @ 4:49 pm (#)

    I would love to win to watch it with my grandchildren. I love the reviews on the movie.

  9. BobbiJo pentney — December 2, 2016 @ 5:17 pm (#)

    The kids and I really wanted to see this movie when we saw the trailer but life kinda got in the way. We would really love to see it.

  10. Julie — December 2, 2016 @ 8:07 pm (#)

    I would love to win a copy of BFG! My 8 year d son and I just read the novel together, what a tongue-twister!????

  11. Silvia D — December 2, 2016 @ 9:14 pm (#)

    I would love to watch with my family! Looks so delightful!

  12. Dave S — December 2, 2016 @ 10:56 pm (#)

    I would love to see this movie. We missed it when it was out in the theatres so would love a copy for one of our family movie nights. Thanks for the chance.

  13. Mike Gismondi — December 3, 2016 @ 6:41 am (#)

    My son loved this movie, so it would be a great present! I’d love to win it for him!

  14. angela griffin — December 3, 2016 @ 6:44 am (#)

    I went to the theatres and saw this with my kids. They loved it and it is one of my favourite stories too!

  15. Katie Edwards — December 3, 2016 @ 8:13 am (#)

    I’d love this because my daughter and I ate almost finished reading the book together! Great timing.

  16. KittyPride — December 3, 2016 @ 10:59 am (#)

    My kids love the story and have not seen the movie yet, would be a nice surprise for them.

  17. Andrea Amy — December 3, 2016 @ 11:13 am (#)

    I would love to win for my kids. We have not seen this one yet 🙂

  18. Debbie F — December 3, 2016 @ 1:05 pm (#)

    I would love to win this DVD for my grandchildren.

  19. Ira — December 3, 2016 @ 1:14 pm (#)

    I’ve heard good words about it and would love to watch with my kids.

  20. George Meek — December 3, 2016 @ 3:47 pm (#)

    I’m a big kid and would enjoy watching this movie…

  21. Lynda Cook — December 3, 2016 @ 7:02 pm (#)

    I seen the previews and it looks like such a great movie, it’s one that I would keep and my grandkids could watch when they come over to visit, thank you for the chance!!

  22. Josh S — December 3, 2016 @ 8:00 pm (#)

    Looks like a great movie. Would like to win so we can watch it as a family.

  23. LUZVIMINDA Gunter-Smith — December 3, 2016 @ 8:40 pm (#)

    I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS MOVIE SO I WOULD LIKE To WIN TO SHARE TO MY NIECES AND NEPHEW, PERfECT FOR MOVIE NIGHT ON THIS HOLIDAY SEASON

  24. missbobloblaw — December 3, 2016 @ 10:53 pm (#)

    I’d love to win because this looks like a great movie to watch as a family!

  25. Carole B — December 4, 2016 @ 4:24 am (#)

    This movie seems to be awesome!

  26. emma walpole — December 4, 2016 @ 5:16 am (#)

    Would love to watch this with my kids, we didn’t get a chance to see it while it was in theatres and it looked amazing.

  27. Brittney House — December 4, 2016 @ 8:17 pm (#)

    My niece really wanted to see this and we didn’t get to catch it in theaters.

  28. DARYL MOAD — December 4, 2016 @ 8:35 pm (#)

    It would be dazzling just to behold!

  29. Joan G. — December 5, 2016 @ 2:52 am (#)

    My grandkids would love to add this movie to their collection.

  30. Amery D. — December 6, 2016 @ 8:56 am (#)

    I would love to win this for our family to watch. It looks like a good movie. Thanks for the chance to win!

  31. travelbuds — December 6, 2016 @ 10:12 am (#)

    I would love to win this as my daughter loves movies and this is one on her list to see.

  32. DebP — December 6, 2016 @ 12:47 pm (#)

    I would love to win this for my niece’s girls. They’re crazy about movies.

  33. Tara — December 7, 2016 @ 7:01 pm (#)

    We didn’t get a chance to see this one at the theatre and i would have loved it. The previews looked good.

  34. Monique L.S. — December 7, 2016 @ 7:10 pm (#)

    My daughter is old enough now to enjoy movies. This looks like a fun one to have in our collection.

  35. naiddia p — December 10, 2016 @ 5:06 am (#)

    I would like to win because it looks like a great movie and I would like to watch it with my kids.

  36. Danissa — December 11, 2016 @ 7:43 pm (#)

    I would love to win this movie for my toddler baby girl as a xmas gift

  37. Dave L — December 12, 2016 @ 5:56 am (#)

    I would like to win because this looks like a great movie our whole family can enjoy together, sadly an all-too rare thing these days. Thank you for the chance to win. Happy holidays!

  38. Kyl Neusch — December 12, 2016 @ 10:54 am (#)

    I really liked the movie!

  39. Wendy Jensen — December 12, 2016 @ 3:20 pm (#)

    I would love to win a copy of Disney’s The BFG on Digital HD and Blu-ray as I think it will be a very great movie.

  40. Donna Clifford — December 15, 2016 @ 7:52 am (#)

    I have never seen this, but would like to.

  41. Laurie Emerson — December 15, 2016 @ 6:00 pm (#)

    I would like to win as it looks like the perfect movie to watch as a family.

  42. Stephanie Liske — December 15, 2016 @ 9:48 pm (#)

    I would like to win this for my kids.

  43. Donna L. — December 14, 2018 @ 10:27 pm (#)

    I liked this movie.

Leave a Comment