International Playthings: mic-o-mic Construction Kits Review {Giveaway}

mic-o-mic tractor and jet kits

mic-o-mic is an educational designer toy that targets the individual skills and abilities of children. They offer construction kits that contain individual parts that can be connected by pins and clips to create aircrafts, motor vehicles, ships and more.

I recently had a chance to received a couple of mic-o-mic kits from International Playthings to review. We received their mic-o-mic Small Jet Plane kit and their Medium Tractor kit.

The Jet Plane Kit has 22 parts, 14 clips, 28 pins and an assembly tool, spare clips and pins are also included. This set is recommend for children 5+ years.

mic-o-mic tractor and jet kits

The Medium Tractor Kit has 52 parts, 11 clips, 21 pins and an assembly tool, spare clips and pins are also available. This set is recommended for children 6+ as it’s more advanced. Both sets are not recommend for children younger than 3 years of age because they contain small parts.

mic-o-mic tractor and jet kits

I started with the Tractor Kit and I can see why this kit is intermediate level. These kits don’t have step by step instructions but instead a series of diagrams that show you where each piece goes.

My almost three-year-old enjoyed watching and helping put the kit together. We started together and I finished while he took his afternoon nap. He was delighted when he woke up to see the finished Tractor model.

mic-o-mic tractor and jet kits

After nap time while I made dinner him and his Dad built the Jet Plane Kit together. He was again helping pass the pieces and happy to be building the Jet model.  After they finished he picked up the both the Jet and the Tractor and started playing with them.

I really like that these kits encourage children and parents to play together and the pieces are manufactured from materials that are free of harmful substances. I also like that they are educational and fun. I can see how older children would love spending time constructing and playing with the mic-o-mic models.

Be sure to visit International Playthings to check out their other mic-o-mic building kits and their selection of toys for babies and children.

Win it: One very lucky US/CAN will receive a mic-o-mic construction set of their choice (based on availability). Enter to win via Rafflecopter below.

Disclosure: I received a sample of a product to facilitate this post. All views and opinions stated on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Angela V

Founder and Writer at One Smiley Monkey blog
Hi, my name is Angela van Tijn and I live in Vancouver, Canada with my wonderful husband, our two boys and our puppy. I am the founder and primary contributor behind One Smiley Monkey. Welcome to my blog!
    Pin It

146 responses to “International Playthings: mic-o-mic Construction Kits Review {Giveaway}”

  1. Jeannie — August 16, 2013 @ 8:06 am (#)

    I like the elevator build a road.

  2. teoy — August 16, 2013 @ 8:17 am (#)

    my son would love this!

  3. Charmaine T — August 16, 2013 @ 8:18 am (#)

    I like the Bath Bomb Factory.

  4. Mary Williams — August 16, 2013 @ 8:24 am (#)

    My son would love the Penguin Panic game!

  5. caryn s — August 16, 2013 @ 8:29 am (#)

    I like the Fuzzy Penguin Triplets!

  6. Amanda P — August 16, 2013 @ 8:39 am (#)

    The jet plane and tow truck are nice. I’m sure my little guy would love them all.

  7. Anne Taylor — August 16, 2013 @ 8:44 am (#)

    love the Georello Tech set

  8. jay young — August 16, 2013 @ 8:49 am (#)

    I like the plane

  9. Julie bolduc — August 16, 2013 @ 8:59 am (#)

    Sheepdog Bean Bag Key Holder 4″

  10. Kris Kipp — August 16, 2013 @ 9:03 am (#)

    My son has one of the Ecotronic farm flashlights and he loves it.

  11. Laurie Snow — August 16, 2013 @ 9:08 am (#)

    Would love the Georello Kaleido Gears

  12. marlene smith — August 16, 2013 @ 9:29 am (#)

    i love the Calico critters they are adorable

  13. jan — August 16, 2013 @ 10:17 am (#)

    the Baby Farm Friends Bowling are soooo cute

  14. Kim Mellick — August 16, 2013 @ 10:54 am (#)

    I love the skyrail Ottovolante

  15. Laura — August 16, 2013 @ 10:58 am (#)

    The dump truck and the fantacolour toys are both pretty awesome! Lots of cool gift ideas on this site 🙂

  16. Ken Ohl — August 16, 2013 @ 11:44 am (#)

    bath bomb factory

  17. Susan White — August 16, 2013 @ 11:47 am (#)

    We would love the Bath Bomb Factory. Sounds super fun!

  18. ron — August 16, 2013 @ 12:05 pm (#)

    Calico Critters

  19. Monique Eckert — August 16, 2013 @ 12:11 pm (#)

    This plane is pretty sweet, my son would love it!

    http://intplay.com/productdetails.aspx?gid=361&prodid=374&pid=4389

  20. Maegan Morin — August 16, 2013 @ 12:45 pm (#)

    I love the Hello Kitty Cuddle Friend – Tulip Bow: http://intplay.com/productdetails.aspx?gid=359&prodid=360&pid=4387

  21. Brittany hamilton — August 16, 2013 @ 12:48 pm (#)

    I looked at the marble run double spiral and am in love! I remember playing with a simpler version as a child and it was a lot of fun. I am sure my boys would love this version much more!!

  22. Julie G. — August 16, 2013 @ 1:17 pm (#)

    Think my grandson would enjoy the Ant Jungle Colony

  23. polly — August 16, 2013 @ 1:55 pm (#)

    I like their Fill N Fun Water Play Mat

  24. casey r — August 16, 2013 @ 1:57 pm (#)

    erupting volcano crater factory looks awesome!

  25. 409cope — August 16, 2013 @ 2:32 pm (#)

    I like the Little Chubbies Gift Set the most.

  26. EmelynTrevino — August 16, 2013 @ 2:53 pm (#)

    Bath Bomb Factory

  27. Deb Dorrington — August 16, 2013 @ 3:17 pm (#)

    I know my son would love the Hyperlauncher Rocket Ball Set

  28. Sandy VanHoey — August 16, 2013 @ 3:32 pm (#)

    I like the Hello Kitty Mini Beads Deco Set

  29. Angela Mitchell — August 16, 2013 @ 3:39 pm (#)

    The Skyrail Ottovolante looks like a lot of fun.

  30. Nikki m — August 16, 2013 @ 6:48 pm (#)

    My daughter has and loves Calico Critters

  31. Colleen Maurina — August 16, 2013 @ 8:10 pm (#)

    My favorite is their mic-o-mic Medium Tractor.

  32. Anne Perry — August 16, 2013 @ 9:32 pm (#)

    I like the Dress Me Josh

  33. thomas rusinak — August 17, 2013 @ 5:09 am (#)

    the bath bomb looks like fun!

  34. Kristen — August 17, 2013 @ 6:17 am (#)

    Ant Jungle Colony – my daughter would love it!

  35. Stacie Farrant — August 17, 2013 @ 6:34 am (#)

    So many great toys! The skyrail looks great!

  36. Steph Bkn — August 17, 2013 @ 7:18 am (#)

    Love the Calico Critters!! My dgtr would love them! I remember them from when I was a kid or something very similar anyways!

  37. sarah j jackson — August 17, 2013 @ 8:11 am (#)

    I like the french knitting flower , I had a toy like this when I was young

  38. Josh S — August 17, 2013 @ 8:21 am (#)

    The Ant Jungle Colony is fantastic

  39. Sandi Tymchuk — August 17, 2013 @ 9:23 am (#)

    I like the Baby Jungle Basketball set.

  40. Laura — August 17, 2013 @ 10:00 am (#)

    Love marble run

  41. Melissa Avey — August 17, 2013 @ 10:04 am (#)

    the science kits look fun!

  42. Cassandra — August 17, 2013 @ 10:12 am (#)

    the Saxoflute and Super Saxoflute look really neat! Music and building together. Love it.

  43. William Mills — August 17, 2013 @ 10:35 am (#)

    Sheepdog Bean Bag

  44. SueSueper Sue — August 17, 2013 @ 11:06 am (#)

    I like the Erupting Volcano Crater Factory
    I think that would be fun for the kids.

  45. Alison K — August 17, 2013 @ 11:30 am (#)

    Visited International Playthings and my favourite products from their store are anything Hello Kitty especially their, “Hello Kitty Cuddle Friend” collection – so cute!

  46. Beth Rosell — August 17, 2013 @ 11:52 am (#)

    My favorite is the Hello Kitty Activity Cube

  47. Jon T — August 17, 2013 @ 1:00 pm (#)

    The Curiosity Cube looks cool and our little guy is just about to hit the right age

  48. Bailey Dexter — August 17, 2013 @ 1:21 pm (#)

    Loving the Fill n Fun water play mat!

  49. Anu Chopra — August 17, 2013 @ 2:30 pm (#)

    My kids would love the Hyperlauncher Rocket Ball.

  50. Karla O'Brien — August 17, 2013 @ 3:17 pm (#)

    I like all of the construction kits. I would love one for my 6 year old granddaughter!

  51. Clifford — August 17, 2013 @ 5:31 pm (#)

    My kids would love the Skyrail Suspension Rollercoaster with Elevator

  52. maricel munoz — August 17, 2013 @ 5:51 pm (#)

    The toy sounds like fun!

  53. JenniferB — August 17, 2013 @ 6:42 pm (#)

    I like the little shopper playset

  54. Jessica Gilbert — August 17, 2013 @ 7:21 pm (#)

    ballet time looks cute

  55. tennille — August 17, 2013 @ 11:49 pm (#)

    love the marble runs!

  56. andie — August 18, 2013 @ 8:08 am (#)

    …the “Tub boats” are cute.

  57. sarah stickney — August 18, 2013 @ 10:45 am (#)

    mic-o-mic Large Tow Truck

  58. Tamar — August 18, 2013 @ 5:36 pm (#)

    I like the Cool Tools from the Kidoozie brand.

  59. Lisa KH — August 18, 2013 @ 10:26 pm (#)

    I like the Stack’n Roll Tumbling Tower, Bubble Machine and Rocket Zoomer.

  60. Andrea Amy — August 18, 2013 @ 11:04 pm (#)

    i like the balancing burgers game 🙂

  61. Lori Jackson — August 19, 2013 @ 10:43 am (#)

    my son would love the Circus Train!

  62. lori butler — August 19, 2013 @ 4:12 pm (#)

    love the garden fresh and fruity playset

  63. Donna L. — August 20, 2013 @ 6:40 am (#)

    Britney Bunny’s Ballet Recital

  64. Erin — August 20, 2013 @ 11:41 am (#)

    I really like the Fantacolor Junior

  65. nikki robak — August 20, 2013 @ 2:59 pm (#)

    the bath bomb factory

  66. Angela P — August 20, 2013 @ 3:07 pm (#)

    I like the hyperlauncher rocket ball kit

  67. Anastasia @ eco-babyz — August 20, 2013 @ 4:04 pm (#)

    I love the mic-o-mic medium locomotive

  68. Joy L — August 20, 2013 @ 4:12 pm (#)

    The marble run spinning looks like fun! My daughter would love that toy.

  69. Dawn — August 20, 2013 @ 4:53 pm (#)

    I am a fan of the educational toys … especially Fun on the Farm and Forest Friends!

  70. Stefanie Sjaarda — August 20, 2013 @ 5:00 pm (#)

    I really like the Fantacolor Design boards, I think I’ll have to scoop one up for when my daughter is older!

  71. Deborah Grant — August 20, 2013 @ 5:36 pm (#)

    I love the Calico Critters and their cute little homes .

  72. Lenny Zinger — August 20, 2013 @ 6:12 pm (#)

    the dump truck, art colony….oooo so much

  73. Jessica C — August 20, 2013 @ 6:41 pm (#)

    I would like the bath bomb factory

  74. JJ Caraway — August 20, 2013 @ 7:09 pm (#)

    I love the mic-o-mic small chopper. My grandson loves helicopters, so this would be perfect for him.

  75. Kat Emerick — August 20, 2013 @ 7:27 pm (#)

    My grandson would love the mic-o-mic large tow truck

  76. molli vandehey — August 20, 2013 @ 10:18 pm (#)

    calica corners adventure treehouse!!!

  77. Agnes O. — August 21, 2013 @ 9:07 am (#)

    My favourite is the Skyrail Ottovolante.

  78. Debbie Petch — August 21, 2013 @ 6:47 pm (#)

    I like the Hello Kitty soft toys!

  79. Susan Chester — August 22, 2013 @ 5:50 pm (#)

    I love the Calico Critters Berry Grove School. Cute!

  80. caroline m. — August 24, 2013 @ 12:28 pm (#)

    I love the Baby Farm Friends Bowling set

  81. natasha severson — August 25, 2013 @ 6:42 am (#)

    my girls would love the fill and fun water playmatt!

  82. jessica edwards — August 25, 2013 @ 12:32 pm (#)

    the georello tech set

  83. Hannah Elise — August 26, 2013 @ 11:46 am (#)

    I like the lil’ shopper playset. 🙂

  84. Sarah Hall — August 27, 2013 @ 3:42 pm (#)

    I love the Perils of the Deep Laboratory. My grandsons would love it.

  85. Zainab — August 28, 2013 @ 1:13 am (#)

    The Bath Bomb Factory sounds cool.

  86. Pamalot — August 28, 2013 @ 4:06 am (#)

    Some of my faves are the Georella Tech, the Marble Run spinning and the Popping Puzzlers.

  87. JLin — August 28, 2013 @ 4:12 pm (#)

    luxury townhouse

  88. eleanor — August 28, 2013 @ 6:32 pm (#)

    I like the Stacking Activity Cubes

  89. brooke t — August 29, 2013 @ 3:30 am (#)

    the bath bomb factory

  90. Gemma — August 29, 2013 @ 5:14 pm (#)

    I love the Pet Science sets.

  91. Kristin Troska — August 30, 2013 @ 8:25 am (#)

    I love the marble runs.

  92. Kelsey Apley — August 30, 2013 @ 8:33 am (#)

    Crazy Creatures looks fun! I know my nephew would love this!!

  93. Kimberly Schotz — August 30, 2013 @ 8:36 am (#)

    I like the Calico Critter collection.

  94. Leslie G — August 30, 2013 @ 8:41 am (#)

    My nephew would lovel this!!!

  95. Valerie Theberge — August 30, 2013 @ 8:48 am (#)
  96. Yesenia — August 30, 2013 @ 10:03 am (#)

    There are so many products my kids would love like these and the Georello Tech and the Heads Up game …

  97. Brie — August 30, 2013 @ 10:43 am (#)

    The Calico Critters are cute!

  98. Rhonda W G. — August 30, 2013 @ 11:20 am (#)

    Hooray for Horses would be enjoyed by my godson!

  99. Jill — August 30, 2013 @ 4:06 pm (#)

    I like the Skyrail Ottovolante

  100. James — August 30, 2013 @ 11:21 pm (#)

    The 4 in 1 Drumset would be great for our little beats queen.

  101. Amy C — August 31, 2013 @ 3:09 am (#)

    I like the bubble machine

  102. Wanda Bergman — September 1, 2013 @ 6:07 pm (#)

    I really like the 15-Piece Chubbies Bucket Set (12+ months). Such a variety!!

  103. Nicole B — September 2, 2013 @ 2:35 pm (#)

    I like the helicopter

  104. angela m — September 3, 2013 @ 11:39 am (#)

    I like the Bath Bomb Factory
    thanks

  105. Karen Morine — September 4, 2013 @ 7:16 am (#)

    The science kit would be fun!

  106. Tanis — September 4, 2013 @ 7:19 pm (#)

    I love the Grabby Pal Bear!

  107. Jennifer I. — September 5, 2013 @ 9:11 am (#)

    My boys would love any of the science kits but I think they would love the pet science kits the best!

  108. Wendy Mastin — September 5, 2013 @ 2:32 pm (#)

    I like the Baby Jungle Basketball

  109. erica — September 5, 2013 @ 3:14 pm (#)

    I love the Stack ‘N’ Spray Tub Fountain!

  110. Karen Hanlon — September 5, 2013 @ 3:54 pm (#)

    I love educational toys for children. They are well made, and teach children so much.

  111. Stacey R — September 5, 2013 @ 5:25 pm (#)

    The Putt Putt Golf Set is adorable

  112. Diana — September 5, 2013 @ 9:55 pm (#)

    I like the Cozy Cutie Cuddlin Dolly

  113. Beth C — September 6, 2013 @ 7:17 am (#)

    The mic-o-mic sets are very cool! I love that there are sets for different ages. My boys are ages 1-10 and would love building them. I think they would also enjoy the Skyrails and lab sets.

  114. Michelle K — September 6, 2013 @ 7:38 am (#)

    Perils of the Deep Laboratory

  115. Lisa R — September 6, 2013 @ 3:23 pm (#)

    I love the Snowglobe
    Polar bear
    2″ dia., 2.5″ H

    sibabe64 at ptd dot net

  116. Joanne Gregory — September 8, 2013 @ 5:29 am (#)

    Click, Rattle ‘n Roll Caterpillar

  117. Yvonne Chan — September 8, 2013 @ 8:18 am (#)

    My son would love the Super Chubbies 10″ Cement Mixer!

  118. Elizabeth Matthiesen — September 9, 2013 @ 8:15 pm (#)

    Hyperlauncher Rocket Ball Set is just the thing for my grandson, he’d be over the moon with it.

  119. Wendy hutton — September 9, 2013 @ 8:55 pm (#)

    Hello Kitty Cuddle Friend” collection…

  120. Elva Roberts — September 11, 2013 @ 6:36 am (#)

    September 11-I really like all the toys. They are so well made and age appropriate. I picked the Adventure Treehouse.

  121. Elva Roberts — September 11, 2013 @ 6:38 am (#)

    September 11-I choose the Adventure Treehouse. I now a little boy who would love playing with it.

  122. Elva Roberts — September 11, 2013 @ 6:57 am (#)

    September 11-I loved your recipe for Steamed Blueberry Pudding. I am Always looking for healthy and tasty desserts and this one seems to fit the bill. Thank you for this.

  123. Nina Murray — September 11, 2013 @ 2:43 pm (#)

    Hello Kitty Cuddle Friend – Tulip Bow

  124. DanV — September 11, 2013 @ 3:13 pm (#)

    I like the aquarium Imaginetics

  125. Paula Michele Hafner — September 11, 2013 @ 5:30 pm (#)

    I like the Early Years Lil’ Shopper Play Set. It’s adorable!

  126. Ashleigh Swerdfeger — September 11, 2013 @ 7:29 pm (#)

    My son would love the 4 in 1 drum set or the tool set. My brother would like the perils of the deep, erupting volcano or practical joke lab. I like the lip balm one lol.

  127. janell wagner — September 11, 2013 @ 10:06 pm (#)

    my grandson loves the maze madness game!

  128. Ashley h — September 12, 2013 @ 12:35 am (#)

    My son would like bugged out.

  129. Christina S — September 12, 2013 @ 5:42 am (#)

    LOVE the Hello Kitty products!!

  130. Pammie @ the R word — September 12, 2013 @ 5:29 pm (#)

    OH wow!

    I have a 4 yr old boy who is all about tractors and construction. he would LOVE this set!!!

  131. Dorlaine Simmons — September 12, 2013 @ 7:55 pm (#)

    Transparent Marble Run looks fun

  132. Dallas — September 13, 2013 @ 7:52 am (#)

    Toys are so damn cool now-a-days!
    I know my son (and daughter) would love to play with this mic-o-mic construction set… though they would probably have to fight through me to get to it!

  133. Mihaela D. — September 14, 2013 @ 10:04 am (#)

    I like the Perils of the Deep Laboratory 🙂

  134. Jill Myrick — September 14, 2013 @ 4:41 pm (#)

    I also like the Large Tow Truck Construction toy.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  135. Erica C. — September 15, 2013 @ 2:34 pm (#)

    The Baby Farm Friends Bowling is cute.

  136. robyn paris — September 15, 2013 @ 4:53 pm (#)

    i like Stack ‘N’ Spray Tub Fountain

  137. Deb S — September 15, 2013 @ 5:47 pm (#)

    I like the My First Haircut kit.

  138. Laura Unger — September 15, 2013 @ 6:45 pm (#)

    I really love the Lift Off Rocket!

  139. Angela Ethier — September 15, 2013 @ 9:43 pm (#)

    I’ve never heard of the mic-a-mics before, but I love them. I want to play with them myself! My favourite is the plane for the little ones!

  140. Kelly H. — September 16, 2013 @ 9:31 am (#)

    I like the pizza pop up game.

  141. Paula Tavernie — September 16, 2013 @ 1:57 pm (#)

    My fave is the Rocket Zoomer! Because it looks like fun!

  142. Michelle B — September 16, 2013 @ 4:06 pm (#)

    I love the Deluxe Flower Station!

  143. susan smoaks — September 16, 2013 @ 4:25 pm (#)

    i like the calico critters school bus

  144. Candace — September 16, 2013 @ 5:12 pm (#)

    My son would also love the bubble machine.

  145. Judy Hunting — September 16, 2013 @ 6:36 pm (#)

    I love the Baby Jungle Basketball

  146. liz — September 16, 2013 @ 7:19 pm (#)

    Hello Kitty Cuddle Friend – Hello Kitty Bow

Leave a Comment