Omaïki Training Pants Review

My son is almost 2 years old and we are starting our journey towards potty training again.  We were making great progress a few months ago but with our busy schedule and lots of traveling we went backwards a bit and there was no more progress for a while.

I think it is a good time to get back on track and I am excited as he seems now ready for toilet training.  I received a couple of training pants to try out from Omaïki and I am really loving the cloth option when it comes to training pants.  I’ve heard a lot about disposable pull-ups not working too well and it just makes sense to use cloth training pants during potty training.

Omaiki training pants

Omaïki Training Pants are soft and feel just like “big” kid underwear but they offer water proof protection in the middle to help protect against accidents. Potty training can be messy but having the right training pants makes all the difference, specially if you are not at home.

Closer to the end of the Summer I started having more “naked” potty training time for him but now with the colder days he is wearing his new trainers. We have had accidents when we are out but having the training pants made them less messy.

Omaïki training pants have super thin “inner” bamboo/organic cotton and polyester inserts (you don’t see them and they can’t be removed) and inner waterproof liners made of 100% PUL.

Omaiki training pants

Something that I really like about the Omaïki Training Pants is the fact that they have side snap buttons that are very useful when cleaning accidents, specially if we are talking about messy poops.  I can’t imagine cleaning those without using the side snaps!  The snaps are somehow hidden on the sides as well so we only use them when we need them. I make sure he helps pulling the training pants up and down (just like underwear).

These Canadian made training pants come in three sizes: small (20-25 lbs), medium (25-30 lbs), large (30 lbs +). We are using the Medium size right now and he still has lots of room.  In general I really like that they look like underwear and he knows right away that they are not his regular diapers, they are his new “big” boy underwear!

If you are looking for cloth training pants then I recommend you consider Omaïki. Their training pants are definitively making potty training less messy for us and we love the fact that they are locally made! They sell for $18.25 each.

Omaïki is also celebratring its 5th anniversary this year and they are offering an amazing promotion that has been extended until… the END OF THE YEAR!  If you purchase 5 diapers you will receive one free. If you have a little one in diapers or if you know somebody who does then pass this along. Great deal for a fantastic product!

Win it: One lucky US/CAN reader will receive a pair of Omaïki trainers of their choice (size/style).  Enter to win via Rafflecopter below.

Disclosure: I received a sample of a product to facilitate this post. No other compensation was provided and all views and opinions stated on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Angela V

Founder and Writer at One Smiley Monkey blog
Hi, my name is Angela van Tijn and I live in Vancouver, Canada with my wonderful husband, our two boys and our puppy. I am the founder and primary contributor behind One Smiley Monkey. Welcome to my blog!
    Pin It

119 responses to “Omaïki Training Pants Review”

  1. Jan — October 1, 2012 @ 3:51 pm (#)

    2 we started

  2. Cassandra Eastman — October 1, 2012 @ 4:02 pm (#)

    I started with my son at 2 and he did really well! My daughter is a year now – I plan on trying around 18 months?

  3. Paige — October 1, 2012 @ 4:33 pm (#)

    I am starting at 3.5 with my daughter but hope to start earlier with my son

  4. Elva Roberts — October 1, 2012 @ 5:08 pm (#)

    October 1-Girls are easily trained at 2 years within a few days. Usually , boys are better left until three and within a few days. One of my little greatgrand sons trained himself at 2 yeas, four months. -I also trained my nephew at two years because my sister had to put him in day care. It took about a month. I never made it a struggle and gave lots of praise when we had successes and no comments when we didn’t. Hope this helps. -el03ro

  5. Lisa — October 1, 2012 @ 5:41 pm (#)

    Oh My Goodesss, this would be PERFECT timing! We have an almost 2 year old little girl (who has worn a sposie dipie once – DH forgot to send a cover with the diapers to the sitters!).

  6. Jen B — October 1, 2012 @ 6:08 pm (#)

    We are in the middle of it now at 27 months. She’s got the pee thing down but still has poop accidents. These trainers would be REALLY handy

  7. Gillian — October 1, 2012 @ 7:30 pm (#)

    These look like they would be amazing for potty training. I am wanting to start with at least one of my boys (I am kind of hoping that the other will follow along).

  8. Lisa KH — October 1, 2012 @ 8:21 pm (#)

    We’re planning on starting at 2 years.
    rafflecopter name: Lisa K

  9. Mei — October 1, 2012 @ 9:20 pm (#)

    Planning on starting at 2 years..hopefully he will want to do it by then.

  10. brooke t — October 2, 2012 @ 3:17 am (#)

    18 months

  11. Melanie P. — October 2, 2012 @ 7:17 am (#)

    We started a little after 2. My son was starting to tell me he had to pee and poop before he would do it and get ready to be changed. So I knew it was time!

  12. Alisha Duncan — October 2, 2012 @ 12:14 pm (#)

    My son is almost 3 and we are just starting now. He wasn’t ready for the potty and I wasn’t going to push it.

  13. Laurie Snow — October 2, 2012 @ 12:45 pm (#)

    We started training a about 2.25 years and at 2.75 years are getting close, still in diapers for long trips out of the house, and at nap time and night time. I’m hoping that the twins we are expecting in December of this year will train a little bit earlier…

  14. Sherry W — October 2, 2012 @ 12:49 pm (#)

    We had no plans for our 2 year old who started herself in the last 2 weeks 🙂 usually we try just after 2nd birthday but some of our kids started later as they really disliked the idea of the toilet.

  15. Stephanie LaPlante — October 2, 2012 @ 1:01 pm (#)

    I’d say the regular age for my little cousins would be 2. I’d like to win these for my younger ones.

  16. Doreen Musson — October 2, 2012 @ 1:12 pm (#)

    I will advise my niece to start around 2 years of age.

  17. Janet W. — October 2, 2012 @ 1:19 pm (#)

    I’m planning on helping with my grandson who will be 3 in Nov. We’re going to potty train him after he turns 3 when he’s mentally ready.

  18. Amy M — October 2, 2012 @ 2:06 pm (#)

    My daughter is 16 months.. and she’s starting to show signs of potty training (I think).. so we may start at 18 months.. or a bit later. I’m going to try to go by her cues

  19. Kelly H. — October 2, 2012 @ 2:16 pm (#)

    My daughter just turned 2 and we have been working on it a little.

  20. Stacie — October 2, 2012 @ 4:02 pm (#)

    One son was close to 4 and the other was 3.5. Hope number 3 is quicker, but it’s not something we stress about!

  21. gibberish (Julie G.) — October 2, 2012 @ 4:12 pm (#)

    Around age two is what I usually aimed for, but it really depends on the child & their readiness & communication skills.

  22. Kayla C. — October 2, 2012 @ 4:34 pm (#)

    My son is 2 1/2 and we will be starting soon.

  23. Anne Perry — October 2, 2012 @ 8:19 pm (#)

    we started at 23 months

  24. Laura Love — October 2, 2012 @ 8:26 pm (#)

    I am planning to start at around 2, or whenever my son starts to show signs he might be ready – ie, not wanting to be in a dirty diaper, showing interest in using the toilet, etc.

  25. Colleen Maurina — October 2, 2012 @ 8:57 pm (#)

    We started introducing it at 2 years old.

  26. Maegan Morin — October 2, 2012 @ 9:24 pm (#)

    I potty trained my son when he was 2 1/2 because that was when I felt he was really ready. My daughter is 18 months now and I’m waiting for the right time. No specific age in mind just when I get that “feeling”

  27. Angela Mitchell — October 2, 2012 @ 9:53 pm (#)

    My daughter was fully trained by 2 1/2.

  28. Anne Sweden — October 3, 2012 @ 5:43 am (#)

    We started at age 2, because then my son was physically able to pull pants up and down.

  29. julie c — October 3, 2012 @ 10:19 am (#)

    plan on starting at 2 1/2

  30. Amy Bailey — October 3, 2012 @ 7:39 pm (#)

    We have started EC since about 6 months..

  31. Nicole — October 3, 2012 @ 9:30 pm (#)

    I’m hoping to start my little guy around 1 1/2 years old. Not sure what to expect as this is my first baby!

  32. Julie L. — October 5, 2012 @ 5:25 am (#)

    We tried right at 2 years and we know now that my son was just NOT ready. At 2 1/2, he’s taking the initiative and we are just now getting started, for real!

  33. Elizabeth — October 5, 2012 @ 9:10 am (#)

    With my oldest we started at 18 months, when he started showing interest, but let him go at his own pace. He would go through periods of great progress and then back off of it for several weeks. When he finally decided he was ready he was about 26 months and we’ve been good since then! My 2nd is 2 next week and has only started showing slight interest. But I pretty much plan on letting him take the lead like I did with the oldest – much less stress for all involved that way!

  34. Melissa — October 5, 2012 @ 10:29 am (#)

    We plan to start when DS is around 20 months.

  35. Talia — October 5, 2012 @ 11:04 am (#)

    I’m going to start introducing the potty and getting him used to the idea at 18 months, then at 2 I’ll start making an effort. However, you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink, KWIM? We’ll see how it goes.

  36. Dandi D — October 5, 2012 @ 3:36 pm (#)

    I’m hoping to start at 18 months.

  37. Raquel Beaty — October 6, 2012 @ 9:01 am (#)

    We started at 22 months with my first, and I will probably start around the same time with #2. She is 15 months, so we have a couple months to go. I may wait longer too, depending on if I have another baby on the way, I don’t know what I would do if she trained and I had no more diaper laundry! 😛

  38. Geri Fink — October 6, 2012 @ 10:54 am (#)

    My oldest trained himself just as he turned two. I plan to start training my second in another six months.

  39. Louisa — October 6, 2012 @ 2:34 pm (#)

    i plan to start between 2&3 when ever they show signs of readyness

  40. Yvonne Chan — October 6, 2012 @ 8:10 pm (#)

    I’m planning on starting at 2 years old.

  41. Claiborne — October 7, 2012 @ 6:22 am (#)

    I’m going to try at 2!

  42. Emily — October 7, 2012 @ 12:49 pm (#)

    Plan to start as early as possible. I’ve found some great tips to start introducing the potty to very young children which can lead to earlier/easier potty training. So many good tips from other mamas online!

  43. Brooke B. — October 7, 2012 @ 6:38 pm (#)

    well… we started at 18 months. at 3 years we’re still working on it!

  44. domestic diva — October 7, 2012 @ 8:06 pm (#)

    We’ll start when my little one says he’s ready.

  45. Jennifer B — October 8, 2012 @ 7:39 am (#)

    My guy is 2 and we’ve started and stopped a few times, I think he’s about ready, so I’m gearing up to PT for real!

  46. ToCo — October 8, 2012 @ 12:31 pm (#)

    20 months!

  47. Kelsea Y — October 8, 2012 @ 8:41 pm (#)

    My baby is 3 months old, but I figure around 2 years old? Hopefully! Haha

  48. Sarah Jane — October 8, 2012 @ 9:09 pm (#)

    We are currently potty training {kind of}. I often feel like it’s two steps forward-one step back. I’m also not forcing it. If my daughter tells me “Poop” or “Pee”, I then put her on the potty; I’m not taking her to the potty every 20 minutes.

  49. Linda — October 9, 2012 @ 5:12 am (#)

    Not yet probably around 2 years old I think!

  50. Ranu Tanu — October 9, 2012 @ 11:11 am (#)

    I plan to start at 18 months

  51. Suzi Satterfield — October 9, 2012 @ 3:16 pm (#)

    I have a two and a half year old. We’re trying. Failing, but still trying.

  52. Olivia L — October 9, 2012 @ 8:06 pm (#)

    I want to potty train my 2.5 year old now, but she seems to have other ideas. 😛

  53. Jaimie — October 10, 2012 @ 11:04 pm (#)

    We’re going to start trying with my 20 month old son soon!

  54. Adriana Fitzgerald — October 11, 2012 @ 10:19 am (#)

    I have a 2 year old who I have been trying to train – without much success 🙁

  55. Melanie — October 12, 2012 @ 12:29 pm (#)

    We started EC at 3 months and will progress as she demonstrates increased understanding 🙂

  56. beth c — October 12, 2012 @ 5:53 pm (#)

    we’ve been doing some form of ec since my son was a few months old (he’s almost 2 now) & are still ‘potty learning’ 🙂

  57. Elizabeth - Water Rolls Uphill — October 12, 2012 @ 6:34 pm (#)

    #1 18 months, #2 18 months, #3 24 months

  58. Sarah Hull — October 13, 2012 @ 10:22 pm (#)

    I started potty training my son at 2. He’s almost 3 now and he is super successful during the day, but we still struggle at night.

  59. Neva Hurlbut — October 14, 2012 @ 2:58 am (#)

    Hope to start by 2

  60. Nicole RJ — October 14, 2012 @ 3:57 am (#)

    We’re hoping to start trying in a couple of months, when DD is around 24 months.

  61. sissy — October 14, 2012 @ 7:41 am (#)

    hoping to really start at 18 months… we have been doing ec but walking has put a bump in that for the last several months!

  62. Jessica Gilbert — October 14, 2012 @ 11:22 am (#)

    started at 15 months – trained by 18 months!

  63. Kalea F. — October 14, 2012 @ 2:47 pm (#)

    I started my girl at 2.

  64. Julia — October 14, 2012 @ 4:22 pm (#)

    My daughter is 20 months, and is already showing signs that she is ready – too bad I’m not yet! Haha. We are slowly introducing her to the potty, but I am in no rush.

  65. Yesenia — October 14, 2012 @ 5:13 pm (#)

    My son is now 2 yrs 3 months and is just starting to show interest.

  66. Joy Newlan — October 14, 2012 @ 7:24 pm (#)

    we are at the very beginning with our 23 month old

  67. 1strangefamily — October 15, 2012 @ 10:31 am (#)

    We’re just starting now that my son turned 2.

  68. Brittany Urdahl — October 15, 2012 @ 4:30 pm (#)

    Plan to start in the next few months.

  69. Lisa — October 15, 2012 @ 8:18 pm (#)

    I plan on starting as soon as my LO show interest…and hopefully that at around 2.5yrs. 😉

  70. Kara — October 16, 2012 @ 3:51 pm (#)

    at 3

  71. Akachi — October 17, 2012 @ 5:43 am (#)

    I plan to start at 20 months for my son

  72. sandra mitchell — October 17, 2012 @ 2:57 pm (#)

    I started my kids around 2 if they had not just started on their own

  73. Brandi Powell — October 18, 2012 @ 7:41 am (#)

    Hope to start around 2 years

  74. cindy lee mckenzie — October 18, 2012 @ 2:27 pm (#)

    started at 15 months……now we’re at 17 months and go the poopoo under control!!!

  75. beth — October 18, 2012 @ 4:51 pm (#)

    About 2…but pee waaaayyyy before poop!

  76. Katy Emanuel — October 18, 2012 @ 11:19 pm (#)

    I don’t have a particular age we will start training at. It will be when our daughter indicates she is ready.

  77. Kathy (Kangaroo Mama) — October 19, 2012 @ 10:38 am (#)

    I started her early but still working at it right now. We probably started around when she was less than a year old.

  78. mary kenney — October 19, 2012 @ 12:01 pm (#)

    plan to start at 18months

  79. Megan W. — October 19, 2012 @ 4:18 pm (#)

    when she turns 18 months!!

  80. ReAnna W — October 20, 2012 @ 12:54 am (#)

    20 months

  81. Allison — October 20, 2012 @ 9:03 am (#)

    i’ve been doing EC since week 3….he is in diapers for backup by i’m planning to move to underwear and trainers around 6 months

  82. andalene — October 20, 2012 @ 4:18 pm (#)

    We were so fortunate – both our kids had no issues and really just decided to take interest and it was history from there.

  83. Kelli A. — October 20, 2012 @ 5:02 pm (#)

    My first son was trained by 2.5 years and right now I’m training my second son who is 2.5 years old, it’s a work in progress..lol, I also have a 16month daughter to train, kind of doing it with my son but I’m not setting any high expectations. 🙂

  84. Krystal — October 20, 2012 @ 5:41 pm (#)

    My gal is only 8 months old, so at this point, I have no idea when we’re going to begin potty training. I’m hoping it’s around 2 years old.

  85. Ashley R — October 22, 2012 @ 7:01 am (#)

    My daughter is 15 months old. I bought a potty chair and we have her sit on it before bath and cheer but I don’t plan to seriously start training her until she seems to understand it more closer to age 2.

  86. Jessica — October 23, 2012 @ 12:02 am (#)

    I hope to start sometime around 2 years old

  87. Deedra — October 23, 2012 @ 1:04 am (#)

    Around 2 years

  88. Madeline Jones — October 23, 2012 @ 10:57 am (#)

    At age 2!

  89. Stephanie Marcus — October 24, 2012 @ 6:09 pm (#)

    I plan on try to start at 2

  90. Johanne — October 25, 2012 @ 1:28 pm (#)

    I have a 2 year old who doesn’t seem interested yet, so hoping around 2.5!!

  91. Rachel Wrignt — October 26, 2012 @ 7:43 pm (#)

    my daughter started casually at 18 months, got serious at 2, and finished two weeks later. my son is 2 now and I can’t seem to get him interested.

  92. Jordyn L. — October 26, 2012 @ 8:15 pm (#)

    I started potty training my older kids around 24 months, and I’ll probably do the same with my baby boy.

    thegreenhouseboutique@gmail.com

  93. Yvonne Chan — October 26, 2012 @ 9:58 pm (#)

    I’ll start at 2 years old

  94. Jen M — October 26, 2012 @ 10:02 pm (#)

    Started with my son at 22 months, by 24 he was good to go.
    Planning the same with my daughter. Trainers will come in handy for her!

  95. Ken Ohl — October 27, 2012 @ 3:49 am (#)

    I have a niece that is 2 starting.

  96. Dana — October 27, 2012 @ 11:51 am (#)

    I try potty training at around 18months. If my kids aren’t ready, then I try again around 3

  97. Andrea — October 27, 2012 @ 2:52 pm (#)

    i have boys and they are HORRIBLE. My 5year old didn’t become totally trained until right around the time he turned 5. My 4 year old REFUSES to use the potty so he’s my big fight right now. IF i can manage to get HIM trained, then i will start with my 2.5 year old son.

  98. corey — October 27, 2012 @ 8:06 pm (#)

    My daughter started just after her second birthday.

  99. Marianne — October 27, 2012 @ 8:29 pm (#)

    My 2 year old has just trained herself (still has accidents napping and at night. She was 25mo — just took the potty off the shelf at the cottage and started to use it). Go figure 😛 First kiddo was significantly more difficult (and 3.5 when finally trained).

  100. Christina C — October 27, 2012 @ 11:28 pm (#)

    My son is 26 months old, and we are starting to get the ball rolling. I don’t expect it to work though for many more months.

  101. Hannah — October 29, 2012 @ 3:32 pm (#)

    I keep hoping that we will start each weekend but we haven’t found a potty chair we both like yet…

  102. Lindsay — October 30, 2012 @ 3:04 pm (#)

    18 months! 🙂

  103. Tirza — October 30, 2012 @ 3:04 pm (#)

    We started potty training our son around 2.5 years old. These trainers would’ve been great to have! I’d love to win them for the second babe. 🙂

  104. Kim — October 31, 2012 @ 9:37 am (#)

    We hope to start training our son before 2, but he is our first and I’m not sure he will be ready!

  105. Nicole Gutermann — October 31, 2012 @ 8:06 pm (#)

    I will start potty training when my daughter starts to show she’s ready. But I want some trainers ahead of time so I’m prepared when it come!

  106. Keara B. — October 31, 2012 @ 8:37 pm (#)

    Planning to start sometime around age 2, but planting the seeds right now!

  107. Lacey — October 31, 2012 @ 8:43 pm (#)

    18 months

  108. Shannon Stubbs — November 1, 2012 @ 12:47 pm (#)

    At 18 months my daughter was mostly potty trained, but then we were gone for a funeral out of town and the following week was memorial day weekend and we were out of town again. Then she quit going. She just turned 2 and is finally starting to go again.

  109. Hannah Avery — November 1, 2012 @ 1:11 pm (#)

    I probably started around 18 months, and we are still at it! He is now 26 months.

  110. Sandy — November 1, 2012 @ 5:12 pm (#)

    I usually wait for cues that they are ready but in general it has been right around 18months.

    sandysaveseveryday AT gmail DOT com

  111. Lisa L — November 1, 2012 @ 5:53 pm (#)

    I started potty training my son at 2. Havent started with my daughter yet

  112. Jackie — November 1, 2012 @ 6:02 pm (#)

    18 months- 2years

  113. Colleen — November 1, 2012 @ 8:16 pm (#)

    I’m starting to potty train my son now and he’s 2 1/2.

  114. Karine Traverse — November 1, 2012 @ 8:29 pm (#)

    My 2.5 year old is currently training, she is doing it more on her own. We let her take the lead on it

  115. Idalia V. — November 1, 2012 @ 8:53 pm (#)

    started at 1 year

  116. Emmeline — November 10, 2012 @ 5:05 am (#)

    She’s been potty trained since birth, so hopefully around 12ish months

  117. paula huie — June 6, 2013 @ 7:25 am (#)

    Love the review on these cloth training pants! my DS is 22m and we started at 18m and he was doing good then stopped for some reason so we didn’t push. now summer is here and he’s almost 2 I think he’s ready he wakes up dry and will go in the morning.. I know what you mean about cleaning poopy he did in his training pants and it was impossible to pull them down and off without leaving a trail all down the legs.. YUCK! while these are a bit expensive for us i am definatley going to check them out online – thank you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Cloth Diaper Giveaway Roundup – 10/19/12 (Giveaways Ending in Oct/Nov)

  2. Pingback: Cloth Diaper Giveaway Roundup for 10/26/12 (Giveaways Ending Oct/Nov)

Leave a Comment