Granville Island Coffee Company Review

Granville Island Coffee

My husband is a coffee lover and as many of you other coffee lovers around know he needs a cup of coffee first thing in the morning to start his day. So when I was asked to review a couple of bags of Granville Island Coffee Company’s coffee I knew I had to say yes! I am not a coffee drinker myself but my husband sure appreciates trying out new high quality coffee for me.

Granville Island Coffee offers fair trade certified and organic coffee that is packaged and roasted in Metro Vancouver – they also have the following three roasts available (from their site):

Granville Island Coffee

Signature Roast

This Peruvian Gourmet Organic Fair Trade coffe, grown in the Chanchamayo Valley, is a connoisseur’s delight with a perfect balance of flavour, body, and aroma.

Kitsilano Roast

This beautiful Fair Trade Organic coffee is shade grown in the mountains region in the state of Chiapas in southern Mexico. Combining nature’s setting of high mountain ranges, rich volcanic soil, witha a fine balance of sun and clouded rain forest, conditions are ideal for cultivating one of the world’s finest coffees.

Yaletown Roast

Experience the sweet fruity notes of this Fair Trade Organic coffee grown in Guatemala’s oldest and most famous coffee growing region of Antigua.

We received their Kitsilano Roast and Signature Roast (both ground) and my husband was excited to try them out. Here is what he had to say about Granville Island Coffee:

“I am by no means an expert on coffee but I know what l like and what I don’t like and have had the chance to try coffees all over the world (including Colombia). It should be noted that I prepared these coffees using the highly recommended Aeropress system which in my experience allows you to experience any type of coffee at its best.  I usually prefer medium roast coffees and the West Coast Blend certainly did not disappoint. It has a really smooth taste that I have especially enjoyed in the mornings, not too bitter or acidic but still full of flavour. The Yaletown roast is much darker and has a bolder flavour that I have also really enjoyed. It is perfect for later in the day or after a nice meal. Both coffees tasted really fresh and can easily compete with any of the other premium international coffees I have tried.”

Even though I don’t drink it I personally love the scent of a cup of coffee that was just brewed. I noticed the Granville Island Coffee had a fabulous strong scent and you could smell the coffee even when the packaging was closed!

Buy it:  ($11.99 for 340g bag) Granville Island Coffee can be purchased online on their website HERE or at  Save on Foods, Urban Fare, IGA Marketplace, Nesters Markets and Donald’s Markets in BC. These will also be on sale at Save on Foods for  just $9.99 from Aug 31-Sept 27, don’t miss it!

Win it: One very lucky US/CAN reader will win two bags of Organic Granville Island Coffee (Choice of roast). Enter to win below via Rafflecopter.

Disclosure: I received a sample of a product to facilitate this post. No other compensation was provided and all views and opinions stated on this post are 100% my own.

The following two tabs change content below.

Angela V

Founder and Writer at One Smiley Monkey blog
Hi, my name is Angela van Tijn and I live in Vancouver, Canada with my wonderful husband, our two boys and our puppy. I am the founder and primary contributor behind One Smiley Monkey. Welcome to my blog!
    Pin It

157 responses to “Granville Island Coffee Company Review”

  1. Chrissy Van Somer — September 5, 2012 @ 8:47 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Yaletown roast

  2. Anne Taylor — September 5, 2012 @ 8:54 pm (#)

    I’d love to try the Kitsilano Roast – Dark

  3. craig pratt — September 5, 2012 @ 9:02 pm (#)

    signature roast medium

  4. Mei — September 5, 2012 @ 9:08 pm (#)

    Yaletown roast for my hubby

  5. Anna — September 5, 2012 @ 9:33 pm (#)

    yaletown roast! Me and hubby can fight over it!

  6. JaimeeR — September 5, 2012 @ 10:15 pm (#)

    The Kitsilano roast – dark, sounds very yummy! I would love to try it. 🙂

  7. Kelvin — September 5, 2012 @ 10:38 pm (#)

    I wanna try!!!

  8. Lisa KH — September 6, 2012 @ 12:58 am (#)

    I’d really like to try the Kitsilano Roast – Dark.
    rafflecopter name: Lisa K

  9. Tamara Sz — September 6, 2012 @ 1:24 am (#)

    I’d like to try the Signature Roast – Dark

  10. Lillea — September 6, 2012 @ 3:23 am (#)

    Signature Roast

  11. Eva U — September 6, 2012 @ 5:47 am (#)

    A hopeless insomniac dark coffee would keep me up all night like a vampire. Opt for Signature Roast – Medium

  12. David RIddles — September 6, 2012 @ 5:52 am (#)

    Signature Roast

  13. Adeline — September 6, 2012 @ 6:16 am (#)

    Signature Toast!

  14. Ann Fantom — September 6, 2012 @ 7:42 am (#)

    I would like to try Granville Island’s Yaletown Roast coffee

  15. David Hicks — September 6, 2012 @ 8:21 am (#)

    Yaletown roast sounds awesome!

  16. Cynthia C — September 6, 2012 @ 8:41 am (#)

    I’d like to try the Yaletown Roast

  17. Vesper — September 6, 2012 @ 9:15 am (#)

    I would like to try the Signature Roast – Dark

  18. shelly Kristianson — September 6, 2012 @ 9:15 am (#)

    I would like to try the Signature Roast – Medium

  19. chris z — September 6, 2012 @ 9:53 am (#)

    i would like to try Signature Roast – Medium

  20. Lynda E — September 6, 2012 @ 10:34 am (#)

    The Yaletown Roast.

  21. Mary Beth Elderton — September 6, 2012 @ 11:26 am (#)

    I’d love to try the Signature Roast – Dark

  22. Jessie C. — September 6, 2012 @ 11:27 am (#)

    I’d like to try Yaletown Roast – Dark

  23. lisa lo — September 6, 2012 @ 11:31 am (#)

    Yaletown Roast – Dark
    sounds interesting.

  24. Jocelyne Alldrick — September 6, 2012 @ 11:31 am (#)

    signature roast medium!

  25. Kathleen — September 6, 2012 @ 11:45 am (#)

    signature roast dark

  26. Florence C — September 6, 2012 @ 11:54 am (#)

    Signature Roast

  27. Yvonne Chan — September 6, 2012 @ 11:56 am (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium for me!

  28. Jan — September 6, 2012 @ 11:58 am (#)

    Kitsilano Roast – Dark

  29. Kim Barrett — September 6, 2012 @ 12:06 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the Kitsilano Roast.

  30. gibberish (Julie G.) — September 6, 2012 @ 12:11 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Dark for me please.

  31. apple blossom — September 6, 2012 @ 12:16 pm (#)

    Kitsilano Roast – Dark

  32. Ken Ohl — September 6, 2012 @ 12:18 pm (#)

    Signature Roast.

  33. Rhonda W G. — September 6, 2012 @ 12:53 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Dark : I do love my coffee…

  34. Teresa M. — September 6, 2012 @ 1:06 pm (#)

    I love Yaletown and went for a visit not too long ago. In memory of the good day that I spent there I would have to choose the Yaletown blend.

  35. InezbyDesign — September 6, 2012 @ 1:15 pm (#)

    Besides all of them?? I would like to try the Yaletown Roast – Dark first.

  36. Luna Broderick — September 6, 2012 @ 1:18 pm (#)

    Mmmmmmm, Yaletown Roast sounds good ‘n rich. I’m kind of a coffee addict Thanks for the Giveaway.=)

  37. Rachel N — September 6, 2012 @ 1:33 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Yaletown Roast – Dark

  38. Heather Palmer — September 6, 2012 @ 1:34 pm (#)

    I think I would choose the Medium Signature Roast.

  39. Brandy — September 6, 2012 @ 1:55 pm (#)

    Kitsilano Roast – Dark

  40. Maegan Morin — September 6, 2012 @ 1:59 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Signature Roast – Dark

  41. kayla schneider — September 6, 2012 @ 2:58 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Dark
    This roast, which also uses a Peruvian Fair Trade Organic bean, has a heavier body and lower acidity, and accentuates the nuances of this ineffable bean. Sounds like the perfect coffee for me!!!

  42. Rebecca H. — September 6, 2012 @ 3:23 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the Signature Medium roast.

  43. Nury — September 6, 2012 @ 3:45 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Yaletown Roast – Dark.

  44. Doreen Musson — September 6, 2012 @ 3:52 pm (#)

    I would love to try the signature roast.

  45. Jessica O — September 6, 2012 @ 4:31 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Yaletown roast.

  46. Ttrockwood — September 6, 2012 @ 5:15 pm (#)

    Yaletown dark roast sounds great!

  47. Christine — September 6, 2012 @ 5:26 pm (#)

    like to try the Kitsilano Roast

  48. deanna_boocock — September 6, 2012 @ 6:05 pm (#)

    Love to try the Kitsilano Roast – dark

  49. Amy M — September 6, 2012 @ 6:35 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Yaletown Roast – Dark

  50. Katie Rose — September 6, 2012 @ 7:00 pm (#)

    Signature Roast medium

  51. lori butler — September 6, 2012 @ 7:01 pm (#)

    The signature roast

  52. Diana — September 6, 2012 @ 7:44 pm (#)

    I would like to try the signature roast dark.

  53. Heidi — September 6, 2012 @ 7:45 pm (#)

    I agree – the Signature Roast would be my choice to try!

  54. Alison K — September 6, 2012 @ 7:49 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium would be the roast I’d like to try. Thanks 🙂

  55. Rebecca Graham — September 6, 2012 @ 8:41 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Kitsilano Roast.

  56. Kristina S. — September 6, 2012 @ 9:22 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Dark

  57. Rachel — September 6, 2012 @ 9:25 pm (#)

    The Medium roast

  58. Marlene V — September 6, 2012 @ 10:00 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Yaletown Roast – Dark coffee

  59. Samorjj — September 6, 2012 @ 10:35 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Signature Roast.
    (entered as Jennifer)

  60. Doris Calvert — September 6, 2012 @ 11:34 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Signature Roast – Medium coffee

  61. Narinder — September 7, 2012 @ 5:04 am (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium

  62. arash naghdi — September 7, 2012 @ 6:23 am (#)

    signature roast dark

  63. Michelle B — September 7, 2012 @ 10:21 am (#)

    I would love to try the Signature Roast – Medium

  64. polly — September 7, 2012 @ 11:03 am (#)

    i would love to try their dark signature roast blend

  65. heidi — September 7, 2012 @ 11:36 am (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium

  66. Stacie — September 7, 2012 @ 1:02 pm (#)

    Signature Roast

  67. Kat E. — September 7, 2012 @ 1:14 pm (#)

    LOVE to try their Signature Roast – Medium

  68. Elizabeth J — September 7, 2012 @ 1:51 pm (#)

    signature roast

  69. Melissa A. — September 7, 2012 @ 3:31 pm (#)

    Signature Roast for me!

  70. joni — September 7, 2012 @ 8:49 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium

  71. Sherrie C. — September 8, 2012 @ 3:28 am (#)

    I would love to try Kitsilano Roast – Dark

    callawishes(at)hotmail(dot)com

  72. Mary Casper — September 8, 2012 @ 4:41 am (#)

    like to try the medium signature roast

  73. Jennifer L. — September 8, 2012 @ 5:04 am (#)

    I’d like to try the Signature Roast – Medium.

  74. SueSueper — September 8, 2012 @ 5:12 am (#)

    I would like Signature Roast – Medium

  75. Elva Roberts — September 8, 2012 @ 8:13 am (#)

    September 8-If I were lucky enough to win, I would like to try the ‘Signature Roast Dark.’-el03ro

  76. Elva Roberts — September 8, 2012 @ 8:15 am (#)

    September 8-If I were lucky enough to win, I would like to try the ‘Signature Roast Dak. All the flavors sound elicious!-el03ro

  77. Tricia Andrews — September 8, 2012 @ 8:28 am (#)

    If I won I would like the Signature Roast Dark please!

  78. ToCo — September 8, 2012 @ 3:06 pm (#)

    Kitsilano Roast!

  79. Monika Bielecki — September 8, 2012 @ 7:48 pm (#)

    Signature Roast!

  80. Angela Mitchell — September 8, 2012 @ 9:43 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the Signature Roast — Medium.

  81. Areta — September 9, 2012 @ 7:11 am (#)

    signature roast dark!

  82. melanee — September 9, 2012 @ 9:59 am (#)

    Kitslano for me if I won.

  83. Jonnie (JB) — September 9, 2012 @ 11:31 am (#)

    signature roast medium

  84. Anne Perry — September 9, 2012 @ 12:12 pm (#)

    Kitsilano Roast – Dark

  85. Yona — September 9, 2012 @ 5:27 pm (#)

    The Signature Roast sounds best for me.

  86. Mya Murphy — September 10, 2012 @ 1:08 pm (#)

    Kitsilano Roast – Dark

  87. Lori P — September 10, 2012 @ 1:48 pm (#)

    Yaletown Roast – Dark sounds like my kind of coffee.

  88. Terri P — September 10, 2012 @ 9:06 pm (#)

    I want to try the dark roast

    Terri P
    pr4gatheringroses AT gmail DOT com

  89. Claire — September 10, 2012 @ 10:29 pm (#)

    i would love to try their dark signature roast blend

  90. Graeme — September 10, 2012 @ 11:30 pm (#)

    Yaletown roast is good!

  91. Tracy Robertson — September 11, 2012 @ 8:15 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Signature Roast Medium. I always go for medium roast, thanks!

  92. Maryann — September 11, 2012 @ 10:04 pm (#)

    The Signature Roast – Medium

  93. Katy Emanuel — September 14, 2012 @ 6:26 am (#)

    I would like to try the signature roast dark

  94. H. Singh — September 14, 2012 @ 6:45 pm (#)

    Medium signature roast

  95. ericka coello — September 15, 2012 @ 7:56 am (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium

  96. Barbara Montag — September 15, 2012 @ 8:15 pm (#)

    I like this – Yaletown Roast – Dark
    Thank you.

  97. a marie hj saver — September 16, 2012 @ 9:25 am (#)

    the kitsilano roast sounds yum!
    I was just at Granville Island this summer- it’s such a beautiful place

    A marie hj saver

  98. jen s. — September 16, 2012 @ 12:49 pm (#)

    the Yaletown Roast – Dark

  99. lisa — September 17, 2012 @ 2:02 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Dark

  100. Sharon — September 17, 2012 @ 2:47 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Signature roast med , If coffee was a man I would marry it!

  101. Karry — September 17, 2012 @ 5:06 pm (#)

    I prefer the medium roast

  102. Leslie J — September 21, 2012 @ 9:10 am (#)

    I love a good bold coffee and try to seek out fair trade coffees. Would love the opportunity to broaden my horizons!

  103. Amber Y — September 22, 2012 @ 2:49 am (#)

    I’d love to try the Signature Roast – Medium

  104. Stephanie LaPlante — September 23, 2012 @ 9:05 am (#)

    I would like to try their Signature Roast – Medium

  105. laurel k — September 23, 2012 @ 9:25 am (#)

    I love Granville coffee have had it before in Vancouver @tomgirlbc

  106. tennille — September 23, 2012 @ 9:51 am (#)

    hubby is the coffee drinker and he likes dark so I think the Kitsilano would be best

  107. Carrie — September 25, 2012 @ 8:57 am (#)

    I’d like to try the Signature Roast – Dark

  108. debh — September 25, 2012 @ 8:04 pm (#)

    Would like to try

    Signature Roast – Medium

  109. Michele P. — September 29, 2012 @ 7:24 pm (#)

    since hubby is Guatemalan the Yaletown roast is appropriate!

  110. Darci — September 30, 2012 @ 11:17 am (#)

    The Signarture DARK roast would be my face 🙂

  111. Melanie S — October 1, 2012 @ 2:12 pm (#)

    We love dark, rich roasts here – so I think I’d go for the Kitsilano, or maybe the Yaletown

  112. louisa — October 1, 2012 @ 5:48 pm (#)

    Kitsilano or the yaletown – dark roasts!

  113. Crystal Porter — October 1, 2012 @ 10:10 pm (#)

    I would like to try the signature roast

  114. Robin — October 2, 2012 @ 1:36 pm (#)

    We like dark, rich coffee, so the Signature Roast sounds delish!

  115. Margie — October 2, 2012 @ 4:59 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Dark
    Thanks for the giveaway.

  116. Dreena — October 2, 2012 @ 8:36 pm (#)

    I’d like to try their Signature Roast – Medium.
    Thanks!

  117. Lara — October 2, 2012 @ 9:14 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Signatyre roast.

  118. Desiree Dunbar — October 2, 2012 @ 11:58 pm (#)

    I’d like the Signature Dark Roast

  119. JenniferB — October 3, 2012 @ 3:32 am (#)

    I would like to try the signature roast-medium

  120. Caryn S — October 3, 2012 @ 7:39 am (#)

    I’d like to try theYaletown Roast – Dark

  121. julie c — October 3, 2012 @ 10:18 am (#)

    Their Signature Roast.

  122. gala — October 3, 2012 @ 11:33 am (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium

  123. Theresa D — October 3, 2012 @ 12:18 pm (#)

    I would love to try the Signature Roast- Medium.

  124. Nicole Naasz — October 3, 2012 @ 2:04 pm (#)

    signature medium roast please~

  125. Diane Baum — October 3, 2012 @ 5:08 pm (#)

    I love a good bold roast

  126. Jennifer — October 3, 2012 @ 7:55 pm (#)

    The signature roast in medium sounds awesome!

  127. Hesper Fry — October 3, 2012 @ 9:11 pm (#)

    I would choose the signature roast in the medium

  128. Tara J. — October 3, 2012 @ 11:08 pm (#)

    I’d love to try the kits roast.. being from vancouver makes me appreciate this so much more! <3

  129. Christine J. — October 4, 2012 @ 12:46 am (#)

    mmm coffee.. I love local coffee even more!

  130. Mary Casper — October 4, 2012 @ 3:52 am (#)

    would like to try the dark signature roast

  131. Gina P (gigi) — October 4, 2012 @ 4:29 am (#)

    I think the Kitsilano Roast sounds yummy!

  132. melinda smith — October 4, 2012 @ 3:10 pm (#)

    I like a medium roast coffee. Grandville Island is not too far from where I live, and I have never tried the coffee.

  133. Karen — October 4, 2012 @ 4:59 pm (#)

    I’d like Yaletown Roast. Thanks for the giveaway.

  134. Auri Lae — October 4, 2012 @ 5:10 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the Signature Roast – Medium 🙂

  135. Carla — October 4, 2012 @ 7:33 pm (#)

    The Kitsilano Roast sounds good!

  136. Michael — October 4, 2012 @ 8:36 pm (#)

    Dark roast is my thang.

  137. Jennifer M — October 4, 2012 @ 10:50 pm (#)

    The Kitsilano roast looks yummy!

  138. Richie Cooper — October 5, 2012 @ 2:20 am (#)

    This would be great to win.

  139. kathy pease — October 5, 2012 @ 5:22 am (#)

    id love to try the signature roast dark

  140. deana c — October 5, 2012 @ 5:46 am (#)

    I would like to try the Kitsalno Roast

  141. cassandra (rab pom) — October 5, 2012 @ 8:37 am (#)

    I want to try the Kitsilano Roast – Dark.

  142. Sandy V. — October 5, 2012 @ 9:24 am (#)

    I would try Signature Roast!

  143. Sarah Yurga — October 5, 2012 @ 10:16 am (#)

    medium roast please

  144. Ed Nemmers — October 5, 2012 @ 10:29 am (#)

    The Medium Signature Roast is my coffee of choice!

  145. Dorothy Hubbard — October 5, 2012 @ 10:33 am (#)

    I would prefer the signature roast.

  146. Julie — October 5, 2012 @ 10:37 am (#)

    I would love to try the Signature Roast.

  147. Nicole RJ — October 5, 2012 @ 10:40 am (#)

    Would love to try the Kitsilano roast!

  148. Gianna — October 5, 2012 @ 12:48 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium.

  149. Mildred Huerta — October 5, 2012 @ 3:49 pm (#)

    I’d love to try the Yaletown Roast!!

  150. Vicki D. — October 5, 2012 @ 4:34 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Signature Roast-Dark.

  151. DanV — October 5, 2012 @ 5:24 pm (#)

    I’d like Yaletown Roast – Dark

  152. Breanne — October 5, 2012 @ 5:35 pm (#)

    Signature Roast – Medium

  153. Barbara Long — October 5, 2012 @ 8:36 pm (#)

    I would like to try the Kitsalano Roast – Dark.

    longbarb1@aol.com

  154. sarah c — October 5, 2012 @ 9:03 pm (#)

    I’d like to try the signature dark roast

  155. Gano Coffee — November 26, 2012 @ 4:46 am (#)

    I like coffee in the evening. If one love to drink coffee they should select perfect coffee with quality. And here is the coffee.

  156. Ethics Commissioner — March 4, 2014 @ 4:29 pm (#)

    The above named “Granville Island Coffee Company”has a big secret. Coffee is roasted by a coffee roaster in Ontario named “Heritage Coffee”. Heritage produces office coffee mainly. Not a specialty producer. This company is good at using our local landmarks to market their coffee, but should not be a local.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Organic Premium Coffee Giveaway at OneSmileyMonkey | Contest Corner: The Best Giveaways on The Net! | Oregon Coast Blogger

Leave a Comment